Poets logo

Obsidian Is Alive

#essaypoetry

By Owen BelenPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Like
Obsidian Is Alive
Photo by Anton Maksimov 5642.su on Unsplash

I live in a realm of darkness and curiosity, where the very ground conceals secrets and riddles, the answers to which are well beyond my reach. The cavern beneath Mount Etna is a maze of contorted rock and hidden riches, where daylight never shines, and the shadows of torches and the ghostly phosphorescence of cinnabar are the only illumination sources. I am fascinated by the cavern's beauty: the stalagmites, vast columns of rock that ascend from the ground like titans and are studded with gleaming adornments and stones, capturing sunlight and creating a treasure-trove of wealth and fascination. One stalagmite, however, stands out: a gigantic monolith of completely unreflective obsidian that glows blackly, swallowing light and color. I am drawn to it by a magnetic-like force; though Clement tells me it will boil to the touch, I am not frightened. Indeed, when I put my palm upon it, I am startled by the device's warmth; it is red-hot, pulsating with unseen living energy. Clement explains it is a conductor, a turning device that draws and converts all force it contacts.

Shocked, I say, "Turns it about? It charges? Charges toward what?" Clement responds mysteriously, "It balances. It strengthens.". I am not satisfied and instead consumed with trepidation and inquiry. Orazio, I am grateful, arrives to shatter the silence and leads me onward, farther into the cavern through the back of the monolith. A flight of old, blackened steps winds me through the solid rock, and I have a sense of impending doom as if I were walking into the universe itself. But I continued via that horrible opening; I had to know. The temperature increases, and the faint becomes denser; however, I advance, propelled by astonishment and the insatiable interest in discovery.

Mental Health
Like

About the Creator

Owen Belen

A teller of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.