Poets logo

I Was Blind to Your Lies

#essaypoetry

By Owen BelenPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
Like
I Was Blind to Your Lies
Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

My heartaches are too heavy to carry with every step I take. It’s a dull pain that never goes away, a wound that will never completely heal. I think of you, of how you used to make me feel Of my feelings for you, of a broken heart that was real I remember our days, the night, the moments, our times together The laughs, the tears, the whispers, the dreams, the dare I remember the way you looked at me, the way you made me feel Like I was everything, the only thing that could be real It was all bullshit, a mirage, a mask you used to conceal The deceit, the lies, the shattered heart I could never seal You said you loved me, it was all just a game A game you played so well, that I could never claim I was blind, I was gullible, the only one I saw was me The only person my heart and mind could ever see You were all in my head, thoughts, and desires I was trapped in a heart fueled with fire I thought you were the one, the special one I sought But you were just a dream, a mirage, I had overly fought One day I woke up and found you gone No goodbye, no word, not even a song I was left with a broken heart, nothing more I could do but mourn I tried to move in, find someone new It was hard, almost impossible, after all I’d been through I was stuck, filled with the same pain The same pain that made my brain insane I thought of you, and all we went all through Both joy and sorrow, laughter, and cries too. It was all a lie, a mask you used to fool. The truth hurts, so I used to be excellent. You said you loved me. That was just a play. I was trivial; my emotions made prey. I was foolishly in love, hypnotized by my want. I lost my mind; I was in it; I couldn’t recant. I thought you were the one, but you weren’t. It was just a dream, a tale I thought I burnt. I’m still looking, still searching, continuing to find A love genuine, a love mien. It’s still hard, a journey defined. It is a journey of pain and heartache, that’s fine. It was a heartbreak journey, not settled.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Owen Belen

A teller of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.