Poets logo

Amazon River Is Cursed

#essaypoetry

By Owen BelenPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
1
Amazon River Is Cursed
Photo by Ivars Utināns on Unsplash

I wander through the dark and mysterious night, lost and alone, my heart and soul drained; it was once full of wonder. The world is a dull and faded gray, once so full of beauty, a heart heavy with weariness. But like a beacon shining in the dark, a glimmer of hope appeared. The chance to escape, to break free of my fears. A journey, a quest to return to the magic I once knew. I must reignite the spark. I am once again full of wonder. I find myself in a place full of myth and legend. A place where the Yacuruna roam with their unrelenting power. The guardians of rivers, their secrets, and treasures untold. The place where the unknown lurks and the brave shimmer as gold. I think of the stories of beauty and the might of their ability to lure a victim into their sight. Their power to bring bounty and despair, the capricious figures dreaded beyond compare. I see them as beautiful, alluring beings. As guardians of the rivers, they might be unseeing. I see them use their power and their right. To bring life or to extinguish the darkest night. I think of the rituals and the offerings made. The worship and chant that promise aid. The shamans and healers do them for the respect, the beauty, the curse, and the land.

For Fun
1

About the Creator

Owen Belen

A teller of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.