Poets logo

Beneath the Lowlights

A fever dream about love. 🌙

By Gina C.Published about a year ago 5 min read
17
Image created with DALL-E-2

And then I saw you

in the low lights

of the Havana summer moon.

Heartbeats dropped like echoes

to my eardrums,

and percussions

resonated all my soul-throbs to your tune.

And I thought I

was dreaming;

nearly not believing

it was you;

feeling dizzied,

pleading kiss me

as I

was mystified by all the lustful fumes.

And that was when the earthquake hit me -

BOOM

…for my searching

(always searching)

spirit…

search it did no more, it knew -

that waiting there, beneath the low lights

it was always,

simply,

you.

*

And then I saw you

walking toward me

in the low lights of

the Cuban summer moon.

My soul burst clouds of fire

and as the sparks and flames grew higher,

they transpired and ensued…

electric waves that made

my heart begin to rush, and thump, and swoon.

Rush…

Rush…

rushing blood,

as the anticipation grew.

Pound…

Pound…

pounding thuds throughout me…

as you came closer into view.

And I thought I

was dreaming;

fireflies of life, beside me, beaming

on that Havana night in June.

And that was when the rainstorm hit me,

Pitter-patter BOOM

…for my soundless

(always soundless)

intuition…

soundless it simply stayed no more, it crooned -

that waiting there, beneath the low lights

it was always,

simply,

you.

*

And then I saw you

right before me

in the lowlights of the moon.

Without a word

you simply had me –

I lost my breath,

the way you grabbed me;

magnetic rays that made

my heart begin to bloom.

And oh, the butterflies,

the emblematic butterflies…

static flutters deep within me as I

looked into your eyes -

and that was when our two lost souls collided -

and all the emptiness inside me

instantly resided,

as I crashed into the essence that is you.

And I thought I

was dreaming -

my spirit felt alive, and gleaming -

rising up, like a balloon;

high into the highest sky and past the ceiling

you made me feel revived right then, and new.

And that was when the thunder hit me -

rumble, tumble, BOOM

…for my troubled

(always troubled)

sense of purpose…

troubled it simply was no more,

for my fate was all-consumed -

and waiting there, beneath the low lights

it dawned on me that it was always,

simply,

you.

*

And then I felt you

as you kissed me

underneath the low lights

of the big Havana moon.

And as your skin brushed up

against mine,

I lost all sense and track of the time;

tasting the life that I was meant for

on your tongue.

And as you held me through the hours -

our auras blossoming, like flowers -

you and I, the Earth and sky,

were one in perfect in tune.

And I know my life is fleeting

and that the years of me

(inescapably)

will one day fade into the blue;

as they…

rush, rush…

run into their pending doom and ending bloom

under the sun.

But in that moment as you held me

- all at once and suddenly -

I was forever young with you.

And as we stood there

in the low lights

of the blue Havana moon,

I was home with you right next to me

never having known you were the remedy

to the aimless wandering I’d lived through.

And then I heard you say to me

as you brushed my face and cradled me

“I’ve been waiting all my life for you.”

And that was when the pieces came together,

and the stones of all my armor turned to feathers,

because your timing could have never been too soon.

And I thought I

was dreaming;

for like a cobbler, life was seaming

brand new soles onto my worn and weathered shoes.

And that was when the lighting hit me,

1…2…3…4…. BOOM

…for my distant

(always distant)

dreams and wishes

distant they simply were no more, they were becoming true -

and waiting there, beneath the low lights

it was always,

simply,

you.

*

And then I held you

as you dipped me

in the low lights of

that endless summer moon.

Below the cape of all of heaven’s bodies

you rocked me back and forth, so softly

beside the starlit glow of the lagoon.

Overcome with love and wonder

I knew right then there was no other

with such purpose and with whom

I was meant to sail (in this life) through.

And as we rode the winding river

you leaned into me, and whispered,

“I want to fly away with you.”

And oh,

how I did,

too…

for passing through the flowing curtains

of the weeping willow trees;

it was those very words you told me

that nearly brought me to my knees -

for I had seen this very moment

in the fog and blurry of my dreams;

for only you…

darling you

seemed to speak the code of my heartstrings.

And as we drifted slowly

in the gentle rock of the canoe

we lifted up our lives together

for together, we’d grown wings.

And I thought I

was dreaming;

nearly not believing

all that I was seeing…

for I opened up my eyes and saw you

lying right beside me in my room.

And that was when the moment struck me -

as I was hit by the MONSOON

…for the flightless

(always flightless)

essence of my being

flightless it simply was no more, because here and now with you, it flew.

And waiting there, beneath the low lights

of that Havana summer moon,

I felt peace of mind and soul inside me, for I finally,

justifiably,

undeniably and truly knew...

that it was always,

simply,

{{*{ YOU }*}}

underneath the low lights

of that Havana moon in June. ✨🌙

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this love poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

love poems
17

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Love it!!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I loved this

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Beautiful! Soooo Romantic ❤️

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I thought that I was singing a song. Quite lovely.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    The title automatically made me think of "When the Lights Are Soft and Low" by Leon Redbone. And the whispy, soft and romantic atmosphere captures the vibe I feel from one of my favorite crooners (bonus: as I kept reading you actually used the word "croon"). Could it be fate?

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    What a lovely, dreamlike ballad! I could easily see this translate into a song. The rhythm is awesome!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    You did your job as a true poet; you made us feel your words and moved us into another place

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is fabulous. Really, really well done.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • I do love the form of this allowing us to fall through the dream with you

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This is masterful writing. Truly one of the best things I have read on Vocal in a long time. Loved it.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Gorgeous! And I love your use of onomatopoeia (sp?) :)

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    So uplifting and inspiring. I love this. You are a wonderful poet.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.