Poets logo

Astral Pigments of a Past Generation

Poetic thoughts about the night sky.

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Astral Pigments of a Past Generation
Photo by Clarisse Meyer on Unsplash

As the silence falls, when the night cloak covers the sky

With a serene darkness that illuminates the moon and stars.

Watch them dance

Watch them sway

Celebrate with the celestials

Thoughts of the existential

Though they seem like figments of your imagination

Know they are astral pigments of a past generation

Marvel their former existence

Offer them the due reverence

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: My good pal, Dana Crandell stated after the most beautiful thing I think I've read. Well, at least one of them that it was "just some thoughts".

No, sir. The above is "just some thoughts" compared to your poem!

For just because it's awesome, here is his magnificent thing.

I was at least partly inspired by his poem and partly inspired in a way by Cathy Holmes' sublime Caffeinated Kiss:

This is something that my brain managed to come up with when it's not being warped by my tall order NaNoWriMo scatterepistolarymulti-narrative-shouldn't-be-doing-it-as-a-first-novel-attempt.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed my thoughts.

Here are some more:

You can also check out the rest of my work here at my profile.

performance poetryvintagesurreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    That is beautiful Paul! Great work! I will look on the night sky with new eyes!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Holey moley, my friend! You just took one of my favorite subjects and created a masterpiece! This is drop-dead gorgeous, and deep! If I provided even one iota of inspiration for this, I'm one proud puppy! "Well done" doesn't begin to say it.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Oh my gosh. F L A I L Y F A C E!!!!! WOAH! Ok, this one knocked my socks off. I'm pretty in love with the stars, and you just gave me more reasons to swoon. Beautiful piece, pal! I've spent so much time thinking about the fact that a star I'm looking at could possibly be long gone, and that maybe the stardust of a dead star came to earth and became part of me, and maybe as I'm staring at the night sky I'm looking at a reflection of myself in the stars. Does that make sense? Like, the light from that star is so far that we are just seeing it even though it is long gone, but it's maybe already a part of us...Just some things to ponder. lol! Thanks for writing this one, it's a BEAUTY! But really, everything you write is.

  • No wait, you got a point there. They indeed are astral pigments of past generation because what we see is actually their last because of how long it takes the light from them to reach us! Loved your poem! Very Paulitical! 🍩🥐 Paulitical was coined by Novel Allen in her piece Puzzlmentationismitis.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    You’re doing an epistolary as a multi-perspective narrative?! 😳 No pressure. Sheesh! Nah..I’m sure it will be amazing. How is it going? Sorry got a bit distracted. Beauty of a poem though! Well done! ☺️

  • Appreciate the distant past as it blazes into our present.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Spectacular & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh, I just read Dana's and this is a superb match to it. Turning it back around, the ancestors, the darkness the distance of the stars instead...all countered to his focus on the sunrise, his light lasting on future generations...just, great job. It's beautiful.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is simply beautiful. And thanks for the shout out, buddy.

  • Test8 months ago

    Captured so poignantly - No 'complaints' this time, just relishing in the loveliness 🤍 I can continue to eat and sleep ;)

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.