Poets logo

As Long As They’re Happy

The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

As Long As They’re Happy

Disclaimer: This poem is dark and it deals with mental health issues. It can be triggering to some. Reader discretion is advised.

As long as they’re happy

There is no need to be weepy.

When she had spent her years

drowning in tears,

hurting, suffering,

healing, and mending.

Seeing them happy

was enough for her to see.

As long as they’re happy,

she can’t be angry

with the world that treated her

so unkindly –

that she would be so willingly

to tear pieces of her

for others,

so they won’t be

lonely.

As long as they’re happy.

How long will you keep

doing this to me?!

Look at me and tell me

what you see.

Are we happy?

Why did you forget me?

When others have treated us so cruelly –

here you are, you give our hearts out

so freely.

Darling, please hear me.

We can’t bear this for eternity.

If we only think

“as long as they’re happy”

it will drive us into insanity.

And when that happens,

then it would be certain

that we would finally find solace

in dying.

But as long as they’re happy

then they may not forget me.

Please don’t leave me.

Don’t forget me.

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

Note: this is part of the collection of poems that I am working on releasing online - The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile. These poems reflect parts of my life and the struggles with my mental health.

Here's the first one: I Am Not Okay.

I Am not OKay

And here's the second one: The Monster In Your Head.

The Monster In Your Head

The third one: The Other Side

The Other Side

And the fourth one is Don't Talk To Strangers.

Don't Talk To Strangers

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Anyway, other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen Black Clover yet?

Why You Should Watch Black Clover

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

TV Animation "Black Clover" Trading Chibi Chara Can Badge Box

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Check out Bluehost here

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders

P.S. I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

sad poetry

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

CyCyWritten by CyCy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.