Poets logo

And Boulders Pierced the Earth

that hurtling inversion

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
And Boulders Pierced the Earth
Photo by Erico Marcelino on Unsplash

Feet upon dusty boulders now

Eyes peer off a sheer face and

discordancy in my mind and body

breathes the fall to life.

This is fear.

                

To see at such great height a peregrine

warmed by northern gusts

brings sharpness to my breath

levitates my core to my throat

steadies a wobble in pristine slices.

This swirling, iced atmosphere—

I am that bird and time

will cease to pass here.

                  

Oh!

but to look down with diamond focus,

periphery    b

                        l

                          u

                            r

                            r

                          e

                    d

— is to see that which pierced the Earth.

It is ridges torn in forgotten ravaging,

lichen etched in proud, coarse bones.

Giants —

off-sprung from the cliffs —

boulders.

And me, cutting

distance with a kindred stare.

                

You say fearing heights is a mask

for falling. And I say it is more, more,

(as thermals send the fearless wing

ever higher), for mine is that which

dreads

a push.

                       

To slip with the idiocy of camera angles

—I snort.

To vault the chasm in harness

—I choke in faint.

Yet, shards of boulders wedge

into the foundations of my

gravitational center,

Earth

pierced from great height.

I fear firm hands to press,

send me reeling unbound

from this perch upon the mountain.

My trust.

                      

They say fools build up from

sand, and I feel grit slide ‘neath soles,

once believers in boulder wisdom.

In visions, I see my head cracked,

sand finding a home within. Tis the shock

of Death, rushing at me from below, or

is it more the hurtling inversion?

                         

It is the “you are dying,

despite your clear mind

despite your wild breath,

despite your tangling hair,

despite your screams hinged

on a countdown to silence.”

And time will stretch as I stretch

with gravity’s promise

but there won’t be time enough to think,

for to think means life,

and life should not be

                                                       stopping

I tell my head: think for this time,

try to face the sky

and in this time that you hate for its thick creep

—t

      h

           i

                 n

                          k.

Think of God; the destination of your soul.

Think of those you leave behind

and the story unfolded in your absence

of your ultimate absence; think of your sadness

your rage in this sky, falling like glass

to explode upon the mountain’s shoulders

pierced and you to follow their lead;

realize you will not be recovered. See

your final resting place as blood and bone

and tragedy upon the Earth.

                         

Think

and be at peace as it all just

finally

stops.

                          

                

 ***

I originally published this over a month ago, but wanted to edit it a bit more. Sorry for any confusion!

nature poetrysurreal poetry

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (24)

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Oh my word. This is exquisite, Mackenzie! I stood on the northern rim of the Grand Canyon. No rails. No one around but my husband and I. I just relived that feeling from this piece. Bravo! Gorgeous work!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is both exhilarating and terrifying. So well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I got vertigo reading this 😱

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    WOW! this was so deep and accurate in its ability to enthrall. The structure gave me the intended effect. That is not easy to accomplish but you did just that - accomplished a masterful piece. Thank you!

  • Rachael MacDonald10 months ago

    was both enjoyable and gave me slight anxiety haha, well done :)

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    This is absolutely sensational, Mackenzie! I felt so much while reading this - the fear, the exhilaration, the determination. Mesmerizing concept and structure. Breathtaking work! ❤️

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I am so scared of heights but I love to climb...and this gave me that exhilarating sensation of climbing and that feeling of overcoming my fear to do so, so well crafted Mackenzie!!!

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    Isn't fear one of the most sincere emotions? You cannot fake it, you almost cannot control it. You are a great sculptor, Mackenzie!

  • I have no idea how I missed this! I'm so grateful that you wanted to edit it more! Your poem was just so mesmerising; your words and the form of the poem! Brilliant work!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I love the intentionality throughout this, from the word choice to the flow to the formatting. Excellently done!

  • Still love it.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Standing ovation! Powerful, emotionly raw and packed with stunning language and structure! missed this the first time round, so I'm glad you edited it! Well done, Mackenzie!

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I am not afraid of heights, but I don't know why this made me feel so raw.

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Wow, as someone who has no fear of heights this poem resonated with me in a different way. Beautifully written.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Ah, as the polish increases. I see why you're filing and buffing. Your process here is more like creating sculpture. Is this your final descision? ;) Beautiful, and cool to see your process.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    OML: I reread this, stood on the cliff and felt my heart race in the face of magnificence. I imagined soaring, then plummeting and soaring again. I will return here, this cliff and your poem, which for me is transformational.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Soooo glad you edited because I missed this masterpiece the first round. I interpreted a metaphor, that the fall is deliberate, a suicide. The structure is unusual but it works. This is freaking awesome with its layers.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler10 months ago

    Mackenzie, as a journalist, I have always been flummoxed by poetry until a fellow Vocal contributor told me to feel it, not interpret it or apply it to what I see or know. This is such a beautiful piece, absolutely stunning because I did feel it. Thank you!!

  • Alivia Varvel10 months ago

    I'm glad you edited this because I otherwise would not have seen it. This is beautiful! The imagery, the structure, everything. The last portion about pondering what exactly happens to us when we die and making peace with there very likely being nothing but ceasing to exist...just so well done.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Mackenzie, this is a soulful message fused with brilliant Word Art. I could feel all of it. 💙✍️👏💙

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is so well done. It perfectly captures the fear of falling with the unexplainable urge to jump. Loved it.

  • Incredibly poetic, vividly described, much as I have thought of falling & embracing the thrill & inevitability.

  • This is Outstanding with Deep meaning 👍❤️💯😉Thanks for sharing 💥📝❗❗

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    F**king brilliant! (excuse me...) I'm really afraid of heights and paradoxically very fond of mountain-scapes. You really get to the bottom of things. All there is to be said. You're on a roll tonight :)

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.