Poets logo

A Stormy Home(body)

When windy days lead to windy thoughts

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
8
A Stormy Home(body)
Photo by Paul Zoetemeijer on Unsplash

There’s a stillness in this house

Quiet radiates of walls in the softest sound waves

Outside the wind rages on

A reminder that I am not alone in my screaming

~

My therapist has been trying to convince me of screaming

For months she has challenged me on the outcome

~

She says, “it’ll ease the pressure”

I say, “how can I allow myself to take up space”

~

There is no question in my statement

For I am no wind

No force of nature

Not even a grain of sand upon this land that isn’t mine

~

I claim nothing

Want nothing

~

Worry, my pain will radiate towards the neighbors and cause them to worry

I know there is already too much chaos next door

~

I return to my thirteen year old thoughts of

“My pain is not big enough to count, others matter more”

I am nothing

I feel nothing

~

Airport runway lights blink bright red

The flight of my self-compassion has departed

~

I am not on the flight.

I have yet to buy my own ticket.

~

But hope whispers in my good ear,

“Tickets are half off tomorrow if you wish to try again”

By Sebastian Molina fotografía on Unsplash

I wrote this poem on a particularly windy day. The house was shaky and while the wind howled along with my thoughts, there was a sense of calm indoors. Maybe if was the trust in the walls to hold still enough to not collapse; both my inner emotional walls and those of the house. Weird.

This poem was also posted on my medium account under my pseudonym Poet in the Arctic.

If you've enjoyed this poem, please feel free to leave a comment, a heart, or even a tip if you're feeling generous. I also invite you to engage in a unique colorful poetry experience:

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryMental HealthFree Verse
8

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    How does this not have more reads...incredibly written with such raw emotion. This line gabbed me and refuses to let go.' I say, “how can I allow myself to take up space” ~

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    "The flight of my self-compassion has departed" - best line ❤

  • "The Butterfly Effect" in poetic free form.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    This was gorgeous and so powerful. Amazing what a storm can bring out in a person. Theses lines were perfect: For I am no wind No force of nature Not even a grain of sand upon this land that isn’t mine

  • Weird. I saw the word weird and was wondering which weird you're talking about. The weird weird or your weird. It has to be the weird weird. Lol. Your poem was so intense, poignant and emotional! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Love this!°❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.