Poets logo

A Scar on My Hearts Ears

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6

There is a scar on my heart’s ears

It’s from all the years of abuse I got used to

It makes it hard to hear when someone says

I love you

There is a scar on my heart’s ears

It makes it hard to notice when someone is being a true friend

And doesn’t just want something else in the end

There is a scar on my heart’s ears

It makes it hard to realize that when a stranger stops and stares in your eyes

You are their prize

Someone they’ve always wanted

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
6

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rhyonis; a Realm, a Rift2 months ago

    I can relate to this and am so sorry you’ve developed these scars, but thankful you have the platform to express yourself and heal! Lovely peace and we’re all so happy to be a part of it and enjoy your work! 🥰

  • I felt every word you wrote . Excellenct explaination regarding trust . I think it is difficult to trust these days .

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    interesting ideas… I don’t trust people much either these days.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This really good. I like the metaphor of heart's ears. Very creative.

  • It does indeed. And how shall we ever believe again?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.