Poets logo

A Poem to My Fourth Husband

Sometimes You Have to Kiss a Lot of Frogs to Find Prince Charming

By Lacy Loar-GruenlerPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
A Poem to My Fourth Husband
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I know you want the best for me,

The sun to warm my face,

The moon to show the way.

But all I need, if you must know,

Is your love to keep me warm and safe,

To keep me all my days.

Some men have not been true,

Not like you.

Some men take your soul and don’t care,

But you. You care for me, let me be who I am,

You give me air. You give me you.

I can only say that I love you.

love poems

About the Creator

Lacy Loar-Gruenler

Lacy Loar-Gruenler worked for a decade as a newspaper journalist and editor. In March 2023, she completed an MFA in Creative Writing and Literature at Harvard University.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    The princes are not what they used to be in fairy tales. Such fake advice should be outlawed. Most are just frogs, seek carefully for the wicked witch has camouflaged them well. Best of the best on prince charming.

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Dear Lacy - So glad I've just discovered your eclectic offerings. *As I scroll through your presentations I've subscribed with pleasure looking forward to viewing more of your Shorts. I'm not into contests/rewards; I'm Ai~Less. I'm just a retired legal professional morphed into a self described 'Goof-Writer' nothing more. But, I so appreciate your lovely 'Original' presentations among the many snippers/with sharp scissors. *Forgive me for 'Self Promoting' - Please see my "Am I Choosing Up?" - What's wonderful about the 'Boomer' Gen is that we all GiT-iT. - With my Respect -  Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Misbah Sheikh5 months ago

    I loved that subtitle: Sometimes You Have to Kiss a Lot of Frogs to Find Prince Charming. It's so true! So well said and your poem is amazing too. Thanks a lot for sharing it! 💗💗

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Hello Lacy! I hope you are well. If you would like to enter the Vocal contest and Catherine or another Vocalist has not nominated you, I nominate you. Good luck if you enter! https://awards.vocal.media/nomination?grsf=d-alexandr-6ehbdm

  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Lovely! Looking forward to reading more of your work, Lacy

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    AHHHH yes! Those first couple marriages are just trial and error! Happy for you! ❤️

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful loem poem!!! Loving this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Hello Lacy! I see that both Catherine and I are fans of yours. Great minds... I am writing to give a heads up. Within days, I will probably post for the Great American Novel challenge. It might not be my best work and I wanted to be honest with you and a handful of others. I am not on vacation anymore. Still, I couldn't help myself... had to write. ✍️ I hope you are well. Take care and bye for now.

  • Catherine Dorian11 months ago

    An ethereal lyric in tribute to the man who loved you in the most simple, beautiful, pure way. So fun to read some of your poetry, as I've mostly read your memoir!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Lovely & Pure! 👏

Lacy Loar-GruenlerWritten by Lacy Loar-Gruenler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.