Poets logo

A Lonely Profession

solitary mount

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
41

Rocky sentinel,

You vigilant protector.

Who acts as your shield?

____________________________________________________

Author's note: I lived in Colorado several decades ago and completely fell in love with the view of the Rocky Mountains. As I was thinking about writing this haiku, I imagined gazing up at those majestic peaks from way down below. It made me think of how mountains seem so untouchable, larger than life, like giant guardians, and they lack an equal.

nature poetry
41

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Aw ❤️ so beautiful who protects the mountain?

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Amy Writesabout a year ago

    This was great!! Really nice!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    This is great! Absolutely fantastic!

  • Miles Penabout a year ago

    Awesome!

  • Julie Buchyabout a year ago

    Living near the Candisn Rockies, I feel your love for the rock and terrain! ❤️

  • They're definitely giant guardians! Beautiful tribute to those mountains!

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    Oh, I adore the insight and compassion toward the mountain! Great poem!

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Very nice. I love the question at the end.

  • Lena Folkertabout a year ago

    This is exactly how I feel about them. I had a very similar idea for a poem. I LOVE yours. <3

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    This is awesome.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    So true! Never thought we would have to worry about protecting the oceans, the trees and the mountains, yet here we are. Well done! Beautiful ❤️

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Nice 🙂👍

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Outstanding work Heather.

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Mmm, yes. Makes me think of the people in my life who are like mountains, too.

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Loved this.

  • Zachary Keiferabout a year ago

    Brilliant haiku!

  • Thayrileabout a year ago

    Like it

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Oh, I just love this one. Especially that last line.❤️

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    I love this! I grew up at the edge of Glacier National Park. I don’t think I truly appreciated the mountains until I moved away and went back. I love the image you created for this, too.

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    I love this Haiku.....very deep and I like the question at the end!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I love the last line!

  • Excellent Haiku , What More Can I Say To You. Seventeen From You Great challenge entry

  • Eugenette Morinabout a year ago

    Lovely... just lovely. The sentiment is just right!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.