Poets logo

A Literary Alien

For The Vocal Extraterrestrial Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
14
An AI Creation By The Author

Another piece of silliness for the Vocal Extraterrestrial Challenge that you can read about here

The Prompt

Write a rhyming poem about the first thing you would introduce to an alien on Earth.

The music is "Silver Machine" by Hawkwind

πŸŒœπŸ‘ΎπŸš€πŸ›ΈπŸŒ²πŸ‘½πŸŒ²πŸ›ΈπŸš€πŸ‘ΎπŸŒ›

An Alien Landed In My Back Garden

Their English Was Good, They Asked For Some Culture

I Showed Them My First Book, Said Is It Hard, Man?

I Said It's Quite Easy, They Said Indulge Us

The Alien Perused All Of The Pages

They Said This Is Twisted, Your Mind Is So Dark

I Said To Read This Will Never Take Ages

Here's Some Beautiful Poetry, I Remarked

The Alien Looked At The Book And Then Smiled

This Is A Beauty, Will You Let Me Keep It?

Of Course, Take It And Read, You Bibliophile

The Alien Left In His Silver Rocket

πŸŒœπŸ‘ΎπŸš€πŸ›ΈπŸŒ²πŸ‘½πŸŒ²πŸ›ΈπŸš€πŸ‘ΎπŸŒ›

performance poetryhumor
14

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Clever and well-done, Mike! πŸ€— I love this take!

  • Huh, who knew they love to read, lol! This was fantastic!

  • To paraphrase Mae West, "Is that a rocket in your pocket or are you just happy to see me." Alien's response: "No ma'am, it's a book I'm wanting to read. My rocket's over there. (And I could hardly fit it in my pocket.)" Aliens are still somewhat naive when it comes to our more randy genres of humor. (See what I did there?)

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Wonderful alien poem!!! Loved it!!!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great! I just published an alien poem as well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.