Poets logo

If Not For You

I Would Not Be A Writer

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago β€’ 2 min read
10
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

There are people who touch us, without whom we would never have done things that make us who we are. This is for the one who made me believe I could write and share my work on this platform. Without them, I would not be here. If you don't know who I mean they are mentioned and linked in many of my stories and poems so they are not all that secret.

You probably have people like that in your life and you can share this poem with them.

The title of this Bob Dylan song is a perfect starting point for what I have to say. I love the words to this song so will share them with you before I share my words with you. The George Harrison version from "All Things Must Pass" is my favourite version, though I also like the one by Olivia Newton-John.

"If Not For You" by Bob Dylan

If not for you

Babe, I couldn't even find the door

I couldn't even see the floor

I'd be sad and blue, if not for you

If not for you

Babe, the night would see me wide awake

The day would surely have to break

It would not be new, if not for you

If not for you, my sky would fall

Rain would gather, too

Without your love I'd be nowhere at all

I'd be lost, if not for you

If not for you

The winter would hold no spring

Couldn't hear a robin sing

I just wouldn't have a clue, if not for you

If not for you, my sky would fall

Rain would gather, too

Without your love I'd be nowhere at all

I'd be lost, if not for you

If not for you

The winter would hold no spring

Couldn't hear a robin sing

I just wouldn't have a clue, if not for you

If not for you

"If Not For You" by Mike Singleton

πŸŒœβœ’οΈπŸ¦‹β™‰πŸ’œβ™ŽπŸŒ»πŸ“πŸŒ›

My Words Would Not Have Been Penned

My Poetry Never Heard

Without You My Perfect Friend

To Inspire My Every Word

If Not For You

β™‰πŸ’œβ™Ž

My Treasure Remain Unfound

My Stories Would Be Untold

And I Would Be Underground

You Inspired Me To Be Bold

If Not For You

β™‰πŸ’œβ™Ž

You Have Freed All My Stories

You Are My Inspiration

Creativity Flies Free

You Fill Me With Elation

If Not For You

β™‰πŸ’œβ™Ž

Every Day You Give Me More

Your Words, Ideas, And Love

Your Magic Makes My Tales Soar

For Me, You Are The True One

If Not For You

πŸŒœβœ’οΈπŸ¦‹β™‰πŸ’œβ™ŽπŸŒ»πŸ“πŸŒ›

inspirationallove poems
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    This is beautiful, Mike! My favorite poem from you.

  • Awww, this was so wonderful! So well done!

  • A beautiful tribute, Mike.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Love the line β€œyou have freed all my stories” this was a nice poem full of recognition and realization. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.