Petlife logo

A Soft Place to Rest

With cows, and french fries, and red balloons

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
A Soft Place to Rest
Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

“Do you think they can see us up here?”

“What do you mean Toto?”

“Do you think they can see us up here like the balloons that KimKim always let go of?”

“I don’t think so Toto”

“Do you think we might find the balloons that she lost?”

“Maybe Toto”

“Oh.”

Some geese were approaching and I started wagging my tail. I couldn’t wait to catch them! Now I had the advantage of the skies too and they couldn’t just fly away!

I started sprinting toward them, my mouth filling with saliva. I love geese!

But as I got to them, they just flew right through me! Honking and laughing at me like they always do. That’s not fair.

I skidded to a stop and looked back pouting.

Maybe I needed to try again.

I bowed my head, ready to play, and bound at the loud smelly geese! I was so fast, like the wind! Come here geese!

I leapt through a fluffy cloud and it felt so funny, like the steam from the bathroom when Mom took hot showers and forgot to close the bathroom door. I pushed myself even harder, but these geese were faster. Stupid smelly geese.

Whatever.

“Are you coming Toto?”

I stopped and turned to look behind me, cocking my head to the side. Why did I have to leave? Can’t he see I’m busy?

“But I’m not done playing…”

“It’s time to get going Toto.”

I started to whimper, I wasn’t ready to leave. I liked being so free in the air with lots of puffy clouds to pounce on and birdies to chase. I haven’t felt this free and light in a long long time.

“Why don’t you tell me a story while we head up?”

“A story? What kind of story? Oh! KimKim loves telling me stories. Well, loved? Anyways!” My tail started wagging as I remembered my favorite times with KimKim. It was hard to think of just one story. We had so many adventures.

We went to the store. We went to the beach. We went to the park. I love the park! So many smells.

We went to Gram Gram’s house. She always gave me so many yummy snacks. And she smelled funny. Like socks.

I love socks.

“This one time we were in the car and I stuck my head out the window and I smelled a cow! A big fat cow!” I started panting, feeling the wind against my face like in the car rides. “And then the cow smelled so bad and I loved it. When we stopped- I don’t know why- I jumped out!” I did a jump in the air to show.

“And then I ran to the smelly cow and the cow was not happy. It started to moo so loud but I couldn’t understand what it was saying. So I barked back that I don’t understand! But it kept mooing.”

“What happened after?”

“Well, KimKim and Mom and Dad found me and they were so loud. Maybe they couldn’t understand the cow either and they were frustrated about the miscommunication. That happens a lot.” I laid down on a nearby fluff cloud and pondered why they were always mixing up what I would try to tell them.

“Like one time, I brought them a delicious baby bird as a gift! I thought it was so cute and squishy. I thought it would be a great friend to play with. But Mom got very red and she screamed and then Dad got very red and also screamed! And KimKim started to cry and I felt sad.”

“What happened to the cow?”

We were still on the way up, the cloud holding me started to float higher and I felt a lot calmer.

“Would you give me some head scritches? I love head scritches.”

“Sure Toto, but what happened to the cow?”

“Oh yeah, it just moo’d and moo’d at me and I just barked and barked, and my humans just shouted and shouted. It was like one big party but with less cake. Then we went back in the car and went somewhere else and I fell asleep.”

“That’s kind of like this might be. You’ll have lots of fun and then you’ll fall asleep.” He started to pet my head and it made me feel even more calm. This being gave good head pats.

“Will there be more cows when I wake up?” I yawned and laid my head on my front paws.

“A whole field full of cows. And chickens, and birds, and anything you want.”

My eyelids started to get heavy and I felt a gentle breeze ruffle my fur. I felt warm and fuzzy like I was back in KimKim's bed with the soft blanket.

“And French fries too.”

I love French fries.

literaturehumanitydog

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (39)

  • Xine Segalas7 months ago

    Oh - so good - so creative and touching.

  • Oluwatoyin Stanley about a year ago

    Very good

  • mohamed nawfanabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story! Wow!

  • Kayla Lindleyabout a year ago

    Such a solid piece. Overall, your story was a pleasure to read and demonstrated a strong command of storytelling techniques. Nicely done.

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    So touching. I hope when they cross the rainbow bridge it's all they deserve.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Love this!!! Congratulations too!!!😊💕

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Awww, this was so sweet and touching. I hope that's what it's like for them :) Loved it.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratualations. wonderfule work on the mind of a dog, and the simple plessure of life.

  • Start A Dealsabout a year ago

    One of the great things about dogs is their ability to form deep emotional bonds with their human companions. They are loyal and devoted, and they will do just about anything to please their owners. Dogs are also incredibly intuitive and can often sense when their humans are feeling sad or upset, and they will do their best to comfort them.

  • Inkweaverabout a year ago

    This is a wonderful and touching story of a dog's playful imagination and his fond memories with his beloved human, Kim Kim. The way the story is told from the dog's point of view is appealing and gives the story a touch of innocence. Descriptions of fluffy clouds, geese, and the various scents and smells the dog encounters make the story vivid and exciting. The inclusion of the human characters' reactions and misunderstandings towards the dog's actions is relatable and adds a layer of humor to the story. All in all, this story is a wonderful and enjoyable read that will leave the reader feeling upbeat and happy❤️❤️❤️.

  • wispo uganjaabout a year ago

    Wow I enjoyed the story

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    I absolutely love this! Such great story-telling. Congrats on the very deserving Top Story.

  • Poppy about a year ago

    That was just beautiful. So accurate to most dogs’ personalities and made me so emotional 🥺

  • Testabout a year ago

    Really beautiful. Such personality in this story.💕Anneliese

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    very nice

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Sandra Matosabout a year ago

    Awww! This brought tears to my eyes! I hope this is what really happens!! It reminds me of my own Munchkin <3 Hopefully, she is floating on a cloud, and she has many soft, comfy blankets <3 Great story.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I like this one...and I love French fries... ❤️

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Ah man, it's one of those "you know where it's going but you don't want it to end" stories. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Now I need some tissues!!! Wonderful job with this story, Oneg!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Loved this story, congratulations on Top Story!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oh wow!! This was so good!! 😭❤️

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations 🎊🎉 on your gorgeous top story my dear friend!!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Loved it. Congratulations on your Top Story!

Oneg In The ArcticWritten by Oneg In The Arctic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.