Motivation logo

Your Struggle is NOT Your Identity!

We are so much more than that

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
16
https://pixabay.com/users/josch13-48777/

I heard a commercial; you know the one? It was medication for people that ‘struggle with obesity’.

"That’s odd", I thought. Many things are a struggle for me:

  • parallel parking
  • online banking
  • growing the nail on my left index finger
  • reaching anything in my house without a stepstool
  • keeping my witness when six lanes merge into two and someone decides they can make their own lane and waits until the last minute and cuts in front of me
  • keeping the rules of soccer AND hockey AND basketball straight when it looks like the same sport with different round objects, shouting, beer-drinking, profanity, and uniforms
  • remembering all my many passwords

But, obesity?

No… that seems like a pretty easy thing. No struggle at all. I can make that grade without any effort on my part.

Evidentially I have been struggling, though, according to advertised medical experts. So even on days when I feel pretty well put together, I have been struggling.

Do I feel like I accomplished a lot today? WRONG! I have been struggling with obesity.

Do I feel good about tackling the household chores, washing, and folding, and cleaning, and bringing order? WRONG! I have been struggling with obesity!

Does my hair fall just right? My glasses bring out the blue in my eyes? Have I been kind today? Thoughtful? Helped another? WRONG! I have been struggling with obesity!

And That's Not All!

The side effect of this advertised medication is odd, too. The advertising states that it may cause ‘suicidal thoughts’.

Now, that’s just what I need.

  • Like, fitting into a pair of black slacks that MUST have shrunk in the wash isn’t already depressing enough.
  • Like, deciding wearing my hair up only makes my neck look like I have a goiter isn’t depressing enough.
  • Like, I'm already pushing against generational depression, inclination towards addictive behavior, yearning for Diet Coke, and fighting my gray roots, Isn't that depressing enough?
  • Like, well. Like anything isn’t already enough without medication pushing you down even more.

I’m sure that medication is the solution for someone. But I don’t believe that the solution is in a pill. At least, not the whole solution. Do I believe that life's problems can be solved by a solution found in a commercial between blind auditions of the Voice? That seems improbable.

I want to be clear: There’s nothing wrong with taking medication when it’s needed. Partnering with a doctor to determine a thoughtful way to use medication and any other treatment is a sound path to follow.

It's Already Not Easy

Yes, the struggle is real. It's there. Weight is my struggle, and I'm actively finding ways to work with the way my body chemistry is configured, and with my natural preference not to sweat, and find a way to eat that nourishes my body without destroying my soul.

But- we all have our struggles. They may be big and obvious, or secret and well-hidden. Some don't have prescriptions purported to fix them trumpeted across the media, some struggles might not look like struggles to everyone else. But they are there just the same.

We are not our struggles. I am not my struggle.

I am not my weight,

or my age,

or my gender,

or my income,

or my heritage.

~

I am my heart,

my fire,

my spirit,

my intuition,

my compassion,

my faith,

my potential,

my courage.

~

I am not a dog (I don't need a treat)

or in a holding pattern until my body conforms to a less-Rubenesque norm.

I am made of stars.

Though I struggle, I am not struggle.

I persevere.

~~~

This is not the first time I've written about body image or weight.

Here’s something that's not a struggle: let me know what your thoughts are after reading this article. Thoughts about advertising? Thoughts about body image?

And while you’re here, please do one or all of the following!

1. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

2. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

3. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

4. A one-time tip or even a monthly recurring tip/pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved! The buttons for that are just below.

You can also find me on Medium, where a version of this was first made available, AND you can find me on Threads!

self helpquoteshealinghappinessgoalsadvice
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Oh, I have all these struggles, always hated pills, now I have to take a few, I try to balance them with natural remedies. Identity is totally different, I agree. It is the make-up of out individual psyches. Our depth and consciousness about how far we have come from the onset of life to now, how well are we handling our will to survive is where the answer lies.

  • Though sometimes I must say it feels as though.... Excellent article/column/opinion piece, more than worth reading & assimilating into our being (though we shall not become it, lol).

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    I'm with you on this! What we go through certainly helps shape us, it does not define us. Thank you for sharing!

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    Commercials about weight lose are annoying period. How is some random advert going to solve what a therapist and doctor should? So weird. Also everyone's struggle with weight is different. I'm not my struggle sometimes I forget that.

  • Beautiful words! I lefr a super long comment on Facebook lol but this article really spoke to me ❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Judey, I really enjoyed reading your post. I agree with everything. I feel that we live in a day and age of extremes. We didn't use to talk about many topics, which was a shame, but now the only things that seem to get any attention is constant labelling and unhealthy conversations around weight, depression, anxiety, ADHD, etc. The pharmaceutical industry is criminal, honestly. A few months ago, I saw someone on social media state that anxiety and depression should be celebrated as part of one's identity and are valid excuses to justify lack of success. When I disagreed, I was told to go to hell. I have anxiety. I suffered from crippling depression for many years. If I had let those things define my life, I would be buried deep in the soil by now. As you said, "I am not" my anxiety and depression. I refuse to let them be the only things that the world should remember about me. Thank you for this, Judey!

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    We do all have our challenges - I find having a "struggling" mindset to be detrimental, physically and mentally - and all pharmaceutical commercials are annoying and misleading! I agree with you completely - our struggles are not our identities! ❤️

  • Alexandria Stanwyck10 months ago

    Preach Judey! Many of my closest friends don't even know how long I have struggled with my weight and body image, and I glad they don't. I allowed it to be one of my defining parts of me for too long, and I am starting to do better. The thing that pisses me off the most about 'obesity' is that most people go based of a chart that only factors in height and age. What about genetic or body shape? This is what should be important: Take care of yourself, but don't deny yourself a sweet or treat. Drink water and exercise, but don't be anal about it. If you don't have the quote on quote perfect body, don't worry about it if you are happy. Life should be about balance, not extremes.

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Yes! Person-first language is so important. I'm not bipolar or ADHD, I'm a person who has bipolar disorder and ADHD. These things are a part of me, yes, and they are important in my understanding of who I am, certainly, but they are not /me/.

  • ARC10 months ago

    Gahd I fkn love this. There aren't enough likes and hearts and yes's for both this article and the idea behind it. Great work. Hope this gets TS.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.