Motivation logo

Why I Will Enter the 2023 Vocal Writing Awards

It's an Exciting Time to be a Vocal+ Creator

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
27
https://pixabay.com/users/alles-2597842/

On July 13, 2023 Vocal's President and COO authored two incredibly unexpected bombshell announcements about the 2023 Vocal Writing Awards. I'll link those announcements at the end of this article.

Photo of Awards page, taken by author on 7/14/23

Vocal Has Challenges All The Time, So.....??

I hear you! It's just that this is ever-so-much-more than a Challenge. this, dear reader, is a Writing Award! (For the robust Rules and Regulations pdf from Vocal check out the end of the official entry page. ) It differs from a Vocal Challenge in several ways that pulled together are why I will make at least one entry:

  1. The Awards are open to ANYONE with a Vocal account. Said differently; this is NOT just for Vocal+ members. That's a BIG deal: opportunities for Vocal free members has been queried often on the Vocal Discord channels and on the Tuesday Raise Your Voice sessions. here it is, and WOW! it's HUGE!
  2. There are EIGHT different categories to enter. Entrants can enter as many times as they like and in as many categories as they wish.
  3. You can earn $5 for each person that you invite to participate and then subsequently enters at least one category.
  4. There will be more than one round of judging, and the Vocal creator community will be part of the process.
  5. The current prize value for each category is constantly increasing as entries are made, and can be found shown above the category. In the example above the prize amount as of 12:45 on 7/14/23 for Flash Fiction was $1761. See bullet point #6 for additional details about this. (Pro Tip: This can help creators get a better understanding of the number of competitors in each category!)
  6. There is an entry fee of $20 required for EACH entry. Now, I'm going to be straight with you, gentle reader; this fact is upsetting, sidelining, and overshadowing the whole thing for many people. That's their right, and it's yours, too, but I'm OK with it and here's why;
  • If you are a Vocal+ member it's discounted to $10 for the first entry in any and all of the 8 categories. So if you were excited to submit an entry in each category you can save $80. You can use this link to upgrade to Vocal+ now.
  • An entry fee will likely cause creators to do less 'throw it against the wall and see if it sticks' entries. We will need to be our own best critics since we are putting our money where our posts are.
  • Part of the entry fee increases the prize amount for the category to which you've submitted. There are three winners per category and the prizes will be as follows: The Awards first place winners will receive $1,000 plus 20% of entry fees per category; the second place winners will receive $500 + 10% of entry fees per category; the third place winners will receive $250 plus 5% of entry fees per category. That means Vocal started the prizes for each category at $1750. In the Flash Fiction image above we noted that- one day in- the amount for that category is now $1761. As of this writing (1:14 on 7/14/23) the category with the largest prize is Horror Fiction with $1806. That shows a larger entry pool for that category.
  • Entry fees should reduce the spam, plagiaristic, and non-attributed AI entries. That's been an ongoing concern for Vocal and its creators, and I see this as a positive step.
  • Entry fees should, being frank here, reduce the number of entries and thus create a smaller (relatively, anyways) pool of competition.
  • The entry fee, even at $20, is within the parameters of other Writing awards. As a reference (and you might find somethin you'd like to enter!), here is a good list from Poets & Writers, with entry fees from zero to well over $20, and many with comparable prize amounts.

So That's Why You're Excited About The 2023 Vocal Writing Award?

No, as exciting as all of that is, and as much as we will be talking about entries, rules, processes, and prizes for the next many months, and as much as I am looking forward to crafting at least one entry; that is NOT why this is such an exciting time to be a Vocal creator.

2023 has seen Vocal seek out input from its creator community, implement new tools, debut new bonuses and communities, and interact meaningfully and directly through the now by-weekly Raise Your Voice and Creator Chat. All of that within the past six months and likely more that I am missing. Then they bring together a multi-month Writer Awards program.

As an operations person myself, I am stunned by their willingness to implement change, devote staff, and demonstrate their fearlessness to embrace change.

This is no stick-in-the-mud platform. This is a platform for all creators and I look forward excitedly to what the future will bring.

~~

Here are the two announcements:

this announcement has the details on how you can nominate someone to enter an get $5 for each nominee you make that does enter:

Please let me know in the comments: Will you register to nominate writers to participate and enter? Are you planning to enter yourself?

While you’re here, please do one or all of the following!

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. Please share your Threads profile link if you've joined! Share any tips you've discovered about using the platform.

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

You can also find me on Medium. AND you can find me on Threads!

successself helpproduct reviewhow togoalsadvice
27

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Lealyn Cruda10 months ago

    Wow

  • MANOJ K 10 months ago

    Great thank u for give me wonderful reading experience keep it up give suggestions my posts and subscribe me !! HAVE A WONDER FUL DAY

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Pass

  • Thank you for writing this Judey. To be honest I was not going to enter this phone case. As I use it out better the challenges. I've always got my writing projects that I want to be working on going. So I'm sorry for me to squeeze extra things in. But after reading your article it is so well written and convincing that I am going to enter this contest. I will probably enter in two different categories. So that means I am going to have to hunker down and write a few really good stories. Thank you again for such an excellent article

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Responding to your request for comments: I did register and had nominated a few creators when I found out about the fee. I'm on the fence at the moment and appreciate your input.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    I wonder if entries that have previously placed in challenges qualify. As you know, I won a haiku challenge. I won't be entering that, as I would be too uncomfortable doing so. I'm just curious if it's allowed.

  • I haven't decided yet, but I'll probably nominate some folks.

  • Misty Rae10 months ago

    I may or may not enter while my Vocal+ membership is still active. I'm not overly impressed, to be honest. I do like the fact that the entry fee may curtail the 99 entries some people make to challenges. However, it smacks of a money grab to me. I have mixed feelings. I'm not in love with the creator community voting. That's not merit based That's a popularity contest and that leaves very good writers like me out of the running because we aren't in the in crowd

  • Test10 months ago

    Great article, Judey. I've entered my three best in the horror category. To me, it's super exciting to breathe life into old stories again. I'll also be writing something new to enter. I love that Vocal has done this. It's different, and it has the potential for huge prize money if it really blows up.

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    I really want to enter but even at a discount my funds are not there. I've been thinking of just being a free Vocal member lately. You wrote such a detailed artic and answered all my questions about this opportunity. You're really on top of things.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous article with insights and opinions! Definitely a T S!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    How does it work if five people nominate the same person, does five of them get $5.00 ? I want to see how this place out. This is something new to me

  • This is just like the numerous competitions we see. Excellent post and probably a Top Story Judey, but I will not be entering this.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Great article. I am undecided at the moment, but maybe, perhaps, who who knows.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Judey, I am glad to see you are continuing to use your voice. I like all of the trophies. LOL! This is a highly informative article. Thank you! 👏

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Thank you for explaining! I was so lost!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Excellent synopsis as always and informative. Thank you 😊

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Brilliant piece, Judey! I am excited about the awards for all of the reasons you mentioned. I will be entering for sure...not earmarked which categories yet - but Free Verse Poetry, probably Horror, and then one of the other fiction ones. I need to think carefully. Most writing competitions from other legit sources tend to come with a fee, so I wasn't upset by that. As you said, it will push us all to be more vigilant with our proofing and do our best - exciting indeed. I am sure this will be Top Story. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, feelings, and enthusiasm.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.