Motivation logo

What is my purpose?

You are here for a reason far greater than you can possibly imagine!

By Aaron Waddell - The Everyday MysticPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1
What is my purpose?
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

When you consider the enormity of the cosmos, the sheer vastness of all of creation - of the universe - it's easy to feel like you're an insignificant speck. That your life has no real meaning.

Consider this long enough, and you're bound to feel sad and depressed. You'll ask yourself:

  • Why does it have to be like this?
  • Why do I have to experience all this pain and suffering?
  • If I am just going to be gone in a few decades, if in 100 years no one will even remember my name, or anything about me, then what was the point of it all?

You might even go so far as to think, (as I once did) after the sun has long since consumed the earth and burnt itself out, and the universe has expanded into a vast, dead nothingness, what will anything we've done matter?

But this is illusion. It is not Truth.

The truth is you are meant for so much more!

The Light of the World

By Flor Saurina on Unsplash

Jesus said:

I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

While this is true, it is often misinterpreted.

He was not referring to himself personally.

He was referring to you!

You are the Light of the world.

You, me, and every other person on this planet, are collectively the son of God.

And each one of us is the Light of the world.

Now most people upon hearing this will rebel against this idea. Just like I did.

You'll think:

There's nothing special about me. How can little me, who has so many problems, so many fears, who can't seem to do anything right ever, how can I be the "light of the world"?

You'll think that humility begs of you to refuse this mantle.

But this is not humility. It is arrogance. It is the ultimate arrogance.

  • It is arrogant to believe there is another power.
  • It is arrogant of you to believe that you can be other than what God made you.
  • It is supremely arrogant of you to believe that you could be anything other than what he's told you you are.

As a son of God, you are the bringer of salvation - to yourself, and to the world.

You do this through forgiveness.

In forgiveness lies your power to change the world.

Through your forgiveness, you forgive yourself…

you heal yourself…

and you heal the entire world.

All through forgiveness.

You Are Enough

By Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

Your next thoughts will likely be: 

I can't do this by myself. 

I'm just one person.

Someone else would be better at it.

There are billions of people on this planet, I can't impact them all!

But again you are depreciating your power.

You are like the single atom that ignites the chain reaction of love that fills the world!

It's you, just you - and no other.

Believe it and it is so.

By Catalin Pop on Unsplash

You are the light of the world

It is your only function

It is why you are here

-------------------

I also wrote a poem to accompany this story. You can read it here!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Hello dear friend, I'm Aaron! I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth and personal development. I invite you to be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you again soon!

Please subscribe so you don't miss any of my poems and stories!

Have a wonderful, blessed day!

Love,

Aaron

P.S. You can see my books, social links and other ways to support me here.

successself helphealinghappiness
1

About the Creator

Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic

Hello dear friend! I'm Aaron - Husband, Father, Writer, Engineer, Poet and Pickleball Junkie.

I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth.

Be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

---------

This is Me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.