Motivation logo

This Story Will Change Your Life For The Better

Once you see it, you can’t unsee it.

By Juan CienfuegosPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Top Story - August 2022
51
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

This article/story is slightly different from anything I’ve written so far.

I am 100% certain that if you read this article your life will change for the better. If you manage to create a habit and do what I say for at least 30 days, 60 days, or 90 days… you will see a positive change in your life.

Let’s make a deal, okay? If you don’t see a positive change in your life in one year you can come back to this article and tell me “Jay, you are a liar. You are a fraud”.

That’s how much I believe in this article.

I’m going to change your life, so read it till the end.

The first step is really important. I want you to take a pen and paper and write about your dream life. But I want you to write it as if it’s already happening.

I know, I know… you’ve read this a thousand times, and it sounds totally cliché, but I’m going to explain to you why doing this is really important.

Two years ago, during the pandemic, I lost my job (like many of us), and I had a college debt to pay, rent to pay, and buy food to live on.

We were on lockdown, they weren’t hiring anyone, and the world was at a standstill.

I was at rock bottom. I didn’t know where to go or what to do.

What happened? I took paper and pencil and began to write:

“I live in this magnificent city… My partner is this person, she is beautiful inside and out, we have a very healthy relationship, and we are very happy together… I am a recognized author in my country and a successful content writer on Medium…I’m an ambassador for this brand…I’m a successful YouTuber…I earn a lot of money with Medium, YouTube, Patreon, my book, and my newsletter…I travel wherever I want and I can afford whatever I want”

I wrote everything I ever wanted as if it was already happening as if it was happening right now. My last resort was always to write something down because I didn’t think this would really work.

Two years I’m starting to live exactly the life I want. And let me tell you, I didn’t believe in this. I thought “what a stupid thing to write this down”.

You know, I’ve read a lot about manifestations. But I have never believed in it. Even to this day, I don’t think it was because I wrote it down on paper.

BUT… let me tell you what I think really happened.

When I wrote that on the paper my brain subconsciously registered that. I eventually forgot all about the paper, but as I wrote it down and my brain registered it, I inadvertently started working towards my goals.

You know, the brain doesn’t really know what’s real and what’s fiction.

Let me give you a few simple examples.

When you play a video game in virtual reality, your brain believes that you are in that virtual world because it’s immersive, and when you take off your headset you feel disoriented for a few seconds.

When you watch a horror movie, you are tense and you feel scared because even though you know that what you are watching isn’t real, your brain does not know the difference between reality and fiction. That’s why you get scared watching horror movies.

The same thing happens when you write “I have this lifestyle…”.

Your brain doesn’t know what is real and what’s not.

So this is one way you can manipulate your brain. When you write on that paper “these are my goals”… you are deciding that this is your reality.

I decided at that moment that this is my reality, these are my goals, and this is what I am working for. There is absolutely nothing that will divert me from this path.

And you know the best thing about hitting rock bottom? That you have absolutely nothing to lose. Any.

In fact, when I meet a person who has hit rock bottom I tell them “Congratulations! You can be the most powerful more manifest of all because you have nothing to lose. Nothing.”

You’ll lose a lot before you win

My mom used to tell me when I was a teenager, don’t hang out with bad influences. And she is absolutely right.

Tell me the music you listen to, tell me what you read, tell me what you watch, tell me who you hang out with, tell me what you eat… that’s your reality.

That person is you, and you can’t tell me otherwise.

Have you ever noticed how the habits of the people around you become yours, and vice versa?

Let me give you an example. One of the biggest decisions I made during the pandemic was to get in shape. It was staying locked up at home 24/7 and doing nothing or taking advantage of the time I had and building healthy habits.

I started doing home workouts. And guess what? Two weeks later, my two roommates started doing home workouts too.

But be careful. Because that isn’t something stationary. Choose the people who come into your life wisely because a single person can change you forever. That is the power of the people that are around you.

If you have a toxic family, your parents or your siblings are toxic… then I would tell you to hold on to yourself. That’s one thing.

But imagine if you have the power to choose who you surround yourself with, what you eat, what you listen to, what you watch, and what you read. And still, you choose the toxic ones… I ask you, do you hate yourself? No, really, do you hate yourself?

Wake up!

Do you know how tiring it is for people who want to get ahead to have friends and family that are constantly holding them back? Do you know how exhausting it is?

I myself have fought against my parents, my friends, my siblings, my roommates… everyone! They all told me not to take this path, they all told me that it was madness, that it was too risky, that I was crazy…

You will lose people that are not prepared to be with the highest version of you.

Why? Because you are about to evolve, and you have to be prepared for it. You have to learn to let go.

I had to let go of the people who were holding me back and keeping me from progressing. I cut them out of my life.

And you know what else? The people who stayed, two years later, to this day, everyone, absolutely everyone is proud of me and what I have accomplished.

Because I did what say I was going to do and there was no stopping me.

You could not stop me from achieving what I wanted to achieve. Period.

Listen to guided meditation

I have recently incorporated a habit into my life and that is to listen to guided meditation. Choose a guided meditation of whatever you want. Money, self-love, health, relationship… you name it. Pick one and stick with that one. Listen to it every night.

I hear one every night related to money. And you know what? Opportunities began to come from everywhere. Brands that want to sponsor my newsletter, new projects, my metrics improved on Medium… and everything is related to money.

So listen to the guided meditation.

Do it.

Say affirmations to yourself every single day

Along the way, I discovered a phrase that immediately resonated with me: “I do not chase, I attract. What belongs to me will simply find me.” And I made it my mantra.

I tell it to myself every single day.

I became so laid back, so detached from everything, and my manifestation started coming.

You know why? In my past relationships, I discovered that my love language is the act of service.

Subconsciously I like to do things for others. He wanted to help and please everyone. And although the intention is good, in reality, what happened is that I was giving all my energy.

Over time I learned to stop chasing others. Stop giving away my energy.

All my energy is preserved in my person, and I began to attract things. There were no more leaks, I stop trying to please everyone.

And I started to worry about myself, I started to ask myself “Jay, are you okay!? Are you okay!?” And I started to take care of myself.

Start working towards the goal

You can’t write “I want to be a successful content writer or YouTuber” and do nothing.

The first thing we are going to do is create an account on YouTube or Medium. We’re going to start writing, we’re going to start filming. And we will post.

You are going to advertise your content on social networks. Twitter, Instagram, Discord, TikTok… wherever. You are going to expose yourself to all the platforms where people can see you and discover you.

But you know the good thing about writing things down? Eventually, the opportunities begin to arrive by themselves.

I am not lying to you, I am recently applying to be a brand ambassador and I have met other YouTubers who create content in Spanish, and they asked me if I had not considered making content in Spanish, that much content is needed in this language and that it would help me grow because people are needed to create this type of content.

And little by little the results have begun to be noticed. Why? Because I already have a channel on YouTube, because I already have content created on this platform. I have already done the work.

But you have to do the work, you can’t just sit back and wait for the miracle to happen. Imagine if you had never written anything? Imagine if I had never filmed the video? Would I have received this proposal? No. I did the work.

I was consistent and here I am.

Believe that you deserve good things

Stop thinking that you are not good enough for good things to happen to you. Or that if something really good happens it’s because something bad will eventually happen.

No, that doesn’t work like that.

Bad things happen because your fear prevents you from progressing or doing what you’ve always wanted. But if you manage to overcome your fears, good things will happen.

And pay close attention to how opportunities present themselves. Sometimes opportunities come in the form of people.

If they offer you a good job opportunity, a good project, a raise… don’t say “I’ll think about it”. Instead ask, “Really? How? Tell me how can I do it?”

I believe that I deserve good things to happen to me, and that’s why good things will happen to me.

There was no way I was not going to get what I wanted.

This time, I want you to take control.

Enough crying, enough saying you don’t deserve good things, enough saying tomorrow, enough… Start now with what you have.

I know you can do it.

Peace.

adviceself helpsuccesshappiness
51

About the Creator

Juan Cienfuegos

Host of BitCorner 🎙️The 1st Salvadoran Bitcoin Podcast | Author of The Savior: #Bitcoin 🇸🇻⚡️ | engineer + educator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Elizabeth Moore2 years ago

    Wow the power of your writing has encouraged me. Thank you so much for your writing.

  • Javed Baloch2 years ago

    ah this is some powerful stuff, thanks for sharing

  • Conner Skaggs2 years ago

    Something great that you mentioned is how the opportunities start to arrive by themselves. We can create a filter in our minds so that we are constantly searching for opportunities if we are working hard and being consistent. Love this, thanks for sharing.

  • Shadow James2 years ago

    Inspirational article. Sometimes a little inspiration is all it takes. Thanks

  • Serena 2 years ago

    An article filled with inspiration. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience .

  • Elle 2 years ago

    I found the article inspirational and will certainly put it into practice. Thank you.

  • 😉Great piece! Bravo!👏🏼Thank you very much for sharing. 🙏 All the best and happy writing.

  • Joshua Grodsky2 years ago

    Inspiring. I feel I was meant to read it. The words you write are powerful and you hold the power. The power to dream///to make change//whatever your circumstances and background///keep believing, focusing, writing knowing "this little light of mine, I'm gonna let it shine"!

  • Interesting article

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.