Motivation logo

The Scripted Life: A Journey of Fate and Choice

"Navigating the Plot Twists and Embracing Free Will"

By Silas BasseyPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
1


(spoken words)

Without auxesis or exaggerations, most certainly because of the experiences i had been encountering; once upon a time, i had the cause to wonder and ponder on the possibility of my life being scripted!

My pondering wasn't solely because i was having a great existence story, because this girl speaking here had and still has her share of life's roughs and curves. And that, i told myself, is worth a ponder.

With all mercies, please pardon my not-being-so-traditional with introducing myself, as it's usually said in the fore of many speeches, but lay that aside, i pray
because…hi! I'm Jane, from the greens and white of Nigeria, based in the outskirts of Lagos and in my early 20's.
And i must say, that if my life was scripted, then I'm definitely not the one who wrote that script!

Cus wow! what a life I'm having
Now, I'm not joking, although i tell jokes well because life has been laughing hard with me. So enter your serious mind and face mood, as we're about to talk on a no jocular matter.

If Life was scripted,
it implies there has to be a writer, one who wrote the script, for the experiences.
to my own wits,that brings God to the fore,
could he have wanted me to pass through these things, as a training or what ‽

But humourously and seriously,
if writing my Life's script was left to my control or predestining, oh what a life that could be, allow me a minute to wonder.
what i'd do if it were left to me could be said in one word; Easy.
I would satisfy the word 'EASE' in my Life's experiences.

But, maybe i'm saying this, because of the hindsight of already experiencing life.
Writing my own script? sigh. I am soberly thinking how that wouldn't be so beneficial to me, it could probably even be detrimental. As i won't learn anything from these Life experiences, such as i have been. Now it's surprising to even myself that I'm saying this.. as i don't enjoy "suffering".

But maybe it's really not suffering, it's a scripted life that's the real suffering. The blood-money people can affirm this.
As i would already know what would happen, how things would turn out, i would be just an actor, nothing to inculcate experientially. Sigh.
And i'm sure Life wouldn't be called life, cause it'd have lost it's true meaning.
It'd probably be called SHOOT not Life.
"How's shoot going" is what we'd be asking one another.
In the same light, if i were to choose a super power, it's definitely not to know the future,as i am one in the now.

Additively, what if others knew what was in your script, their hypocrisy towards you would skyrocket. Just imagine if you knew a little boy's script leads to him being a president or someone of great influence and wealth, or knowing he was going to marry you, you wouldn't even let him talk with any other girl, save his mum.
See, I feel now that not knowing the script helps.

Allow me end with this Yoruba adage
"Jẹ ki gbogbo eniyan gbe ni gbogbo ọjọ ti n bọ pẹlu itara ti ireti.. Jẹ ki ohun ti o ṣe pataki jẹ loni " which when translated says
" Let every man live every coming day with the propensity of hope.. let what matter now be today, not that day. "

healingsuccessself helphappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.