Motivation logo

Telling Me I Am Perfect Is An Insult To My Good Intentions

Nature cannot maintain perfection, who told humans that they could?

By Annelise Lords Published 3 days ago 4 min read
Image by Annelise Lords

Enjoying How To Stop Destroying Your Goals As A Perfectionist by Maliha Noushin

She said: As a perfectionist, Goals must be conquered.

Enjoying How To Stop Destroying Your Goals As A Perfectionist by Maliha Noushin

As a perfectionist, Goals must be conquered

https://medium.com/dancing-elephants-press/how-to-stop-destroying-your-goals-as-a-perfectionist-2ab48b0f8eea

Nature cannot maintain perfection, who told humans that they could?

P.S. This piece is not meant to hurt or disrespect anyone. It’s just my opinion of how I feel to be called perfect.

Image by Annelise Lords

Being aware of yourself, your weaknesses, and your strength, no one can tell you who you are.

I believe, that, ‘If you know yourself, no one can tell you who you are.’ Annelise Lords

Don’t let anyone tell you who you are!

My supervisor once said that I was a perfectionist. I disagreed and shook my head, saying that I don’t intentionally aim for perfection in whatever I do. Maliha Noushin

I am mocked and called perfect.

I am not! I just do my best. It’s a bad habit, but I am working on it.

Image by Annelise Lords

I am organized, think before I act and somehow manage to do the right things because I don’t like pain. I am aware of the consequences of many things, so I avoid whatever I know will bring me pain and sorrow. Life demands balance, so pain will find its way in. When it visits, I can handle it. I think and live economically because I don’t like poverty. I am healthy because I hate going to the doctor. I believe it’s common sense to be healthy and I can save more money too.

Image by Annelise Lords

I don’t like to beg or borrow, so I handle my finances in a way that I don’t have to.

Does that make me perfect?

I call my life decisions common sense. Nature cannot maintain perfection, who told humans that they can?

Image by Annelise Lords

I realized that my problems stemmed from a self-imposed, subconscious perfectionism. Maliha Noushin

I don’t think for a second that I am perfect and no one can convince me that I am. I know myself, so no one can tell me who I am. Striving for self-imposed subconscious perfection is a pain for the ones who don’t know themselves. The ones who know themselves continue living their best life with happiness and love.

Image by Annelise Lords

It hurts when they under-mind my good work, criticizing me by calling me perfect. Yes, calling me perfect is an insult to my efforts, because humans are not perfect.

Perfection is not a compliment for me. I see it as an effort to distract me and throw me off course, especially if I make a mistake.

“Oh, Miss Perfect isn’t perfect after all. How does it feel to be a lowly human like one of us?”

Nature cannot maintain perfection, who told humans that they are perfect? Annelise Lords

Image by Annelise Lords

I also realized that occasionally, my perfectionist tendencies left me feeling hopeless and helpless regarding my objectives. Maliha Noushin

See the damage that kind of thinking does when we allow others to tell us who we are.

Knowing yourself can save your life. Knowing yourself is one of your most valuable assets. Knowing yourself is power! Annelise Lords

Image by Annelise Lords

A perfectionist’s capacity to undermine their accomplishments and activities can stop a snowball from rolling and deplete their motivation. It has the power to take away one’s well-earned sense of well-being. Maliha Noushin

Not knowing oneself can be life-threatening. Why would anyone believe that they are perfect because they choose to live their best life? The people in our lives who think we are perfect and are envious of our incredible ability to perform at our best. Telling you that you are perfect is not a compliment. It’s an insult to your strength and ability to do a damn good job.

If you know yourself, no one can tell you who you are! Annelise Lords

Image by Annelise Lords

As perfectionists, we may need help setting reasonable goals. Our standards for ourselves may be so high that we end up setting unattainable goals. Maliha Noushin

Perfect or not, most ambitious humans set high standards for themselves that have nothing to do with perfectionism. I set high standards for myself, and I allow no one to influence me to go below what I want for myself. I know my weakness and strength. I know what I can do, will do, want to do, and isn’t willing to do!

When it comes to a perfectionist’s self-criticism, this is easier said than done. Maliha Noushin

Because others call us perfect, we will always fail if we choose to believe that we are. Their wrong perception of your ability to give your best shouldn’t allow you to fail. And as I said before, no one should tell you who you are. You should know yourself first.

Image by Annelise Lords

You may commit a number of errors when attempting to fulfill your life’s ambitions. These errors give us insightful information that helps us adjust and reroute our course of action as needed. Maliha Noushin

It is human to make mistakes because it comes with life lessons. Mistakes are lessons for me. Learning from them quickly and not repeating them isn’t perfection. It’s awareness and common sense.

Image by Annelise Lords

A perfectionist can achieve their objectives in life; all they need to do is practice self-awareness and self-compassion along the road. Maliha Noushin

Humans are the most imperfect beings. Telling us we are perfect or is a perfectionist is an insult, not a compliment. It’s not something to feel good about. Humans achieve nothing but pain and regrets from believing that they are perfect.

Know yourself!

Image by Annelise Lords

Image by Annelise Lords

If your heart could speak, what would it say?

Image by Annelise Lords

If you know yourself, no one can tell you who you are. If you love yourself, you wouldn’t change to match what others think you are. Annelise Lords

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

how tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 days ago

    Hmmm. A comprehensive one!

Annelise Lords Written by Annelise Lords

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.