Motivation logo

Talk

Who is talking to you and not at you?

By Theresa EvansPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1
Talk
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

Some people talk about you because they lost the privilege to talk to you. (2 Pac Out Law Immortals)

There is a big difference between talking to someone and talking at someone. Most people do not even realize the difference because they are so used to doing it without much thought. Talking to someone means actively listening to what the other person is saying and showing that you are interested in what they have to say. It is essential to hear them out because the speaker may be close to you in some way, or you may simply respect the person, so you make sure to give them your attention at that moment.

Talking at someone means you are not speaking to the other person directly. You are simply talking around them, which is a sign of disrespect to me. If you are not talking directly to me, do not be surprised when I do not respond as you would like. I already know the real reason you do not like my response to you is because you realized that you were talking at me, not to me as you should.

Other people who do this want to be in control of others and not themselves. They tend to do this when they know they are not happy with themselves, and they will try their best to make you feel some type of way because you dared to call them out on their craziness. I have realized over the years that this action is a controlling action from an insecure person. They have not gotten to the mental place of healing themselves yet, making others feel guilty and even sorry for them to get their own way. They expect others to listen to them fully but not give them back that same listening level of attention.

I enjoy talking to others because it engages people with my inner joy and happiness. I am not the kind of person who thinks that I am better than others, but at the same time, I am if you put in that kind of arena to negatively put me down. No one is responsible for your happiness except you, and if you continue to go through this life thinking that others will and can make you happy, you are wrong. Your happiness comes from you and you alone, and if you are not in the correct mental headspace, you will find yourself miserable.

Some people talk about you because they lost the privilege to talk to you. This is a scary place to find yourself when you know the person you are talking about is good-hearted. I definitely call these types of people haters. Realistically, let’s think about this for a second. I know firsthand about being talked about because I choose to hold on to my standards and stand up for respect of myself and others. I have always had the power to cut people off and distance myself from them because they are toxic. This doesn’t mean that they are all bad fruits; it simply means that they are uneducated and misguided with the information they have received.

In closing, I will say that I am very cautious when allowing others to give me misinformed information for their own heartless reasons. I am a giver and will always give you what you have asked me for all along. If you were indeed for me as a friend, you would not say things that you know are intently set up to cut me in the first place. Ultimately, you are human just like I am, but I will never change the core of who I am to become bitter and broken like you. I will no longer be available for you emotionally, physically, and mentally. You have burned this bridge with me, and now I am no longer using my water to put the flames out.

successquoteshealinghappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Next Koding7 months ago

    It highlights the importance of active listening, respect, and reciprocal communication in maintaining healthy relationships, impressive!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.