Motivation logo

Shame: How I Overcame It and You Can Too

How I Overcame Shame

By Daniel OkoroaforPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Shame: How I Overcame It and You Can Too
Photo by Julia Taubitz on Unsplash

Shame is an emotion we all feel at one point or another. Maybe you feel it when you make a mistake, or when you’re not meeting your own expectations. Maybe you feel it in relationships or at work. Whatever the case may be, shame can be debilitating.

Shame is often the result of negative messages we’ve internalized about ourselves – messages that tell us we’re not good enough, or that we don’t deserve love and happiness. These messages can come from our parents, our society, or even from ourselves.

The good news is that shame is something we can overcome. In this article, I’ll share my own story of overcoming shame, and I’ll give you some practical tips that you can use to start overcoming shame in your own life.

How I Overcame Shame

I was raised in a family that didn't believe in discussing emotions. As a result, I grew up feeling a great deal of shame. I was ashamed of my appearance, my intelligence, my interests - you name it, I felt it.

Shame is a powerful emotion that can hold us back in life. It can prevent us from taking risks and from reaching our full potential. I know this all too well, because I used to be someone who was crippled by shame.

It wasn't until I was an adult that I began to realize that shame was something I could overcome. But then I realized that shame was just a story I was telling myself. It was something I had learned from my past, but it didn't have to define my future. So I decided to face my shame head-on. I started to share my story with others, and I slowly started to heal. I started by doing some soul-searching and identifying the areas of my life where I felt the most shame. I then started working on challenging those beliefs and building up my self-confidence. It was a difficult and long journey, but today I am proud to say that I am no longer a slave to shame.

Why Shame Can Be Damaging

Shame is an emotion that we all experience at some point in our lives. It is the feeling of humiliation or embarrassment that comes from falling short of our own standards or from the standards of others.

While shame is a natural emotion, it can also be a very damaging one. Shame can lead to feelings of worthlessness, self-doubt, and isolation. It can make us believe that we are not worthy of love or belonging. Shame can also lead to destructive behaviours such as addiction, eating disorders, and self-harm.

If you are experiencing shame, it is important to remember that you are not alone. Shame is a universal emotion, but it does not have to define you. There are people who care about you and who will support you through this difficult time.

How Shame Can Be Overcome

One way to overcome shame is to reach out to a trusted friend or family member and share your feelings. This can help you to feel less alone and give you the support you need to work through your shame. You can also seek professional help from a therapist or counselor who can help you to understand and work through your shame.

Shame is a difficult emotion to deal with, but it is possible to overcome it. By reaching out for support and understanding your shame, you can begin to build a healthier sense of self-worth.

By Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

Steps to Overcoming Shame

Shame is often the result of negative experiences or messages we've internalized about ourselves. It can make us feel small, unworthy, and unlovable.

While shame can be a difficult emotion to deal with, there are steps we can take to overcome it. With time and effort, we can learn to challenge the negative thoughts and beliefs that fuel our shame. We can also learn to accept ourselves, faults and all. In doing so, we can begin to move forward in our lives and reach our full potential.

Finally

Shame is a powerful emotion that can keep us from living our best lives. But it is possible to overcome shame. Through understanding and empathy, we can begin to move past the shame that holds us back. If you're struggling with shame, know that you're not alone. There are people who care and who can help

self helpsuccesshealinghappinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Daniel Okoroafor

I have a decade of experience in both investment advisory and internal audit at various firms. For more than five years I managed my own investment portfolio as well as assisting several investors to achieve goals as a financial adviser.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.