Motivation logo

Pay It Forward And Reciprocate

Thoughts On Supporting Each Other On Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
17
Image By Creator

Introduction

I have broached this subject before and others have gone into this much further, but I feel there is no harm in bringing this up again.

This by Judey Kalchik is an excellent analysis of why reciprocity is important.

I try to show some permanent reciprocity by having the Creatonati on my profile which you can check and the story that tells you about it is part of the Vocal Resources below:

I also listed many creators who are reciprocal here.

Being Reciprocal

In my opinion, this is not something that you can ask anyone to do, apart from on a high level. Being reciprocal benefits all of us, teaching us new things, building friendships, and providing empathic support. I am hoping this article will make people think about being reciprocal.

If you show kindness to someone in the smallest way it is likely that they will take notice of what you do and maybe they will return the favour.

Similarly, if someone shows you kindness you should always try and return the kindness you have been shown in some way. I know there are people who see kindness and empathy as something that can be taken advantage of but I do feel that these are few and far between.

Sometimes I get tips and if that happens I always thank the person, in a direct message if possible, or if it's a public message I will just say "Thank You".

I also tip new members, and sometimes friends with a dollar just a tiny piece of appreciation which again makes the receiver feel appreciated. I wrote a couple of pieces that feature tipping and this was one.

Reads bring us a little money from Vocal, and I always leave a comment on stories I read if I enjoy them, and I leave a comment on the Facebook or Twitter post if that is where I first saw it.

In the Vocal Social Society, we have themed threads and encourage our members to share their own stories and those of other members that they think are worthy of reading.

I always try to read more stories than I share, I suppose I see it as a fair payment. If someone reads mine, I read theirs, and someone else's, and usually leave comments. I do hope for reciprocity but don't always get it, but sometimes people are busy and sometimes Facebook seems to hide your work from other's eyes, or that is my opinion.

I think I do get more than my fair share overall, but I think that comes because I try and encourage others and a lot of people know my name even if they do not know I am a Vocal Creator.

I actually love it when I see Top Stories and Challenge wins by people I know or are my friends and always try to pass on my congratulations. Sometimes I am snowed under and then feel guilty when I don't do it. If we win, it is so good to get congratulations from our friends and we want to do the same for them.

Conclusion

I want us all to be successful and to feel appreciated, and the way we make that happen is by reading and sharing and commenting. When you see a lot of comments on your Vocal Story it really does lift your spirits and makes you want to create and share more.

So I hope you have enjoyed this, and feel free to berate me if I have missed a story of yours, I try my best, but the more creators I get to know the more stories I then feel I have to read. It does give me a great choice and hopefully, I will get around to a great deal of your wonderful tales.

I've included "Checkin' It Out" by Van Morrison from the album "Wavelength" because that is what I will be doing with the creations you produce.

social mediasuccessself helpproduct reviewhow togoalsadvice
17

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox4 months ago

    I love the concept of reciprocity and appreciate your philosophy of thoughtful engagement with other creators on the Vocal platform. Since I'm between jobs, I have more time on my hands that I know what to do with and have really enjoyed spending a lot more time reading stories on the platform. There are a lot of amazing writers. By the by, I love your illustration. If you don't mind me asking, did you use an art program or a more old school medium?

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    This is a wonderful piece! It's so true. Reciprocity makes so much of a difference. Taking the time to engage with each other and make genuine connections is what makes this platform so wonderful. ❤️ Thank you so much for writing and sharing this piece!

  • Amen! Preach it, brother!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    I agree! My motto has always been: Treat others the way you would like to be treated. If you are a supportive member of your community, your community will support you back. :-)

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Nicely done! Congratulations on your leaderboard win as well!

  • Heather Zieffle 11 months ago

    Wonderfully said Mike. I don't have many people in my personal life that like to read so I always appreciate getting feedback from this community, and reciprocating.

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    A great and relevant topic Mike! You did a good job with this.

  • Geoffrey Philp 11 months ago

    Thank you for this great advice. As Brother Bob would say, "Give a little, take a little, one more time, yeaaah!"

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    I don't know how you do it, Mike! This is awesome! Well said and GREAT advice!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    I can’t imagine berating anyone for missing a story of mine ☺️ every read is appreciated! I know what you mean about feeling like you have to read everything though! It gets a bit stressful.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing the reciprocity piece, Mike! (That was a surprise when I opened this!) You are definitely one of the friendly and supportive bright spots on the Vocal platform

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.