Motivation logo

Overwhelm Part 2

I’m still in it.

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
Overwhelm Part 2
Photo by Tonik on Unsplash

Day 47/366 days of writing pieces in 2025.

Be careful what you wish for. I wanted 2024 to be the year I quantum leaped into another version of myself. A daring more courageous version, who takes more risks with her creativity and leadership. And it’s all happening at once and I welcome it. But I’m so exhausted from all the extra nuances that have come with it that I’m wondering if my nervous system is ready for all of it. And so the only topic I wanted to write about today was a continuation of the overwhelm I started feeling and wrote about several days ago. Read it here. Even though I’m still sleeping great at night (I wrote about my sleep regimen here ) during the day I’m still in overwhelm.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

The weight of my burdens seems to grow and sprawl.

Tasks pile up high, like a mountain so tall,

In the midst of it all, I feel at times small.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

My mind is a whirlwind, caught in a squall.

But I'll take a deep breath, stand up straight and tall,

One step at a time, I'll rise above this thrall.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

Yet I refuse to let this feeling be my downfall.

I'll seek help and support, answer the call,

Together we'll overcome, together we'll breakthrough this wall.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

But I'll face each challenge, both big and small.

With courage in my heart, I'll heed the inner call,

For in the face of adversity, I'll rise and not fall.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

Writing articles daily, preparing for an art show's call.

Running a fitness challenge at work, juggling them all,

In this whirlwind of creativity, I sometimes feel I need to crawl.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

A temporary storm, on this journey I will not let myself snowball.

The exhaustion creeps in, like a heavy squall,

If you've felt this way before, you're not alone, after all.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

Balancing passions and duties, like a delicate ball.

Knowing it's temporary, I answer the inner call,

To those who've felt overwhelmed, I empathize with you all.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

But in the midst of chaos, I won't let myself pitfall.

For tired souls like mine, who've heard the same call,

Remember, it's okay to feel overwhelmed, amidst it all.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

Deep breaths, one step at a time, I shall recall.

Focusing on the present, not the looming sprawl,

In moments of extreme exhaustion, Ill reprogram my brain with an upgraded install.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

Asking myself how to make it easier, I'll enthrall.

Acknowledging the temporary nature, like a waterfall,

This too shall pass, I'll rise above the thrall.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

In the midst of chaos, I refuse to enthrall.

Reminding myself it's temporary, amidst the brawl,

For those who've felt this way, I empathize with all.

I’ve taken on too much and I cannot do it all,

Deep breaths, one task at a time, I'll enthrall.

In moments of extreme exhaustion, I’ll rest and withdrawal,

I'll remind myself, this too shall pass, after all.

A message for both you and I.

Remember, it's okay to feel overwhelmed at times, to feel like you've taken on too much. It's a natural part of life, especially when we are passionate about our pursuits and want to make a difference. But it's important to remember that we are not alone in this feeling, and that there are always ways to seek help and support.

Take a step back, breathe, and prioritize. Break down your tasks into manageable chunks, and tackle them one at a time. It's okay to ask for help, to delegate, to take breaks when needed. Remember that this feeling of being overwhelmed is temporary, and that you have the strength and resilience to overcome it.

In the face of adversity, remember to be kind to yourself. You are doing the best you can, and that is more than enough. Keep pushing forward, keep rising above the challenges, and know that you are capable of achieving great things, even when it feels like the weight of the world is on your shoulders. You've got this.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.