Motivation logo

Overwhelm Happens

What can we learn from overwhelm?

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
Overwhelm Happens
Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

Day 45/366 days of writing pieces in 2024. Confession: I wrote this piece yesterday while my hair color was processing at the salon because I’m so short on time right now. I think it’s important to keep it real. Life happens.

I’m currently feeling overwhelmed, and I believe it’s important to acknowledge and express it. As a personal trainer and life coach, I also experience the challenges of being human. Today, I want to share my thoughts on this overwhelming period in my life.

In just over a week, I have a huge art show coming up. The last-minute details and tasks that need to be completed are piling up, and unexpected expenses related to my art are surfacing. Additionally, my J.O.B. is in its busy season, and I have a long list of clients with a waiting list. I find myself working overtime to accommodate everyone. However, I remind myself that this busy season is temporary, and I take it one minute at a time.

On top of everything, I am currently leading a step challenge at our studio. Although it was my idea, I now realize that this month may not have been the best time to take on this additional responsibility, considering my upcoming art show. As a result, my room has turned into an art studio with a bed in it, as art supplies and creations are scattered everywhere. I have amassed a significant inventory of art pieces that need to be prepared for the show.

To add to the chaos, my laundry is piling up, and I haven't had the time to go grocery shopping or meal prep. It's clear that I need to find a way to manage everything effectively.

So, how do I deal with this overwhelming situation?

Firstly, I remind myself that this is only temporary. I know that this level of busyness is not my norm and that things will eventually settle down.

Secondly, I pay close attention to the lessons I am learning from this experience. Perhaps in the future, when committing to a big art show, I will refrain from taking on additional obligations like leading a challenge at work. I might consider designating a specific day for outsourcing to a laundry service. I could also plan a bigger than normal monthly Costco run to stock up on groceries.

Thirdly, I take deep breaths and acknowledge the progress I have made by putting myself out there. I remind myself that it's okay to feel overwhelmed and that I am only human. I give myself grace and compassion during this demanding time.

Furthermore, I consistently ask myself, "How can I make this easier? Is there a way to simplify some of these tasks that I haven't thought of yet?" By seeking creative solutions, I can alleviate some of the burdens.

Additionally, I adjust my daily routine by waking up a little earlier or going to bed a bit later. I understand that these adjustments are temporary and necessary to manage the workload effectively.

Moreover, I am not afraid to ask for help. If there are people who can assist me in any way, I reach out and seek their support.

To keep myself motivated, I plan an epic self-care day for the day after my art show. This gives me something to look forward to as a reward for all the hard work. I may arrange for a cleaning service to tidy up while I indulge in a relaxing massage or plan to spend the entire day resting and rejuvenating. Having this self-care day in mind helps me stay focused and motivated during this overwhelming period.

Lastly, I find solace and calm in grounding and calming music. Playing soothing melodies in the background creates a peaceful atmosphere that helps me stay centered and focused.

Overwhelm is inevitable, no matter how skilled we are at taking care of ourselves. It is a natural part of life. Fortunately, I don't experience overwhelming situations often, which is a blessing and a curse. It's a blessing because no one wants to constantly live in a state of overwhelm. However, it’s a curse because I’m really feeling the contrast right now to how I normally live. I know in the end it’s all good. This too shall pass.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.