Lifehack logo

Better Sleep Now

Do this and thank me later.

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago 3 min read
2
Better Sleep Now
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Day 46/366 days of writing pieces in 2024.

I’m a bit of a sleep Queen. My regimen is on point. In fact it’s so on point my ex boyfriend teased me a bit when we first moved into together because of my sleep routine and how particular I am. But by the end of our relationship, he had adopted a lot of what I do into his own routine. I came home one day to find him asleep during a nap wearing my sleep mask!

Getting a good night's sleep is essential for our overall health and well-being. If you find yourself struggling to get quality sleep, here are three ways to better sleep:

1. Establish a Consistent Sleep Routine: One of the most effective ways to improve your sleep is to establish a consistent sleep routine. Try to go to bed and wake up at the same time every day, even on weekends. This helps regulate your body's internal clock and promotes a more restful sleep. Additionally, create a relaxing bedtime routine by engaging in calming activities such as reading a book, taking a warm bath, or practicing meditation. By following a consistent sleep routine, you signal to your body that it's time to wind down and prepare for sleep.

My routine consists of taking a bath before bed. Sometimes it’s an epsom salt bath and sometimes I use bath bombs. Sometimes I use liquid magnesium soak in my tub. One of my favorite Epsom salts is melatonin epsom salt. You can get it at target or on Amazon. I also spray my pillow with lavender pillow spray. I always like trying new products and changing it up.

By Isi Parente on Unsplash

2. Create a Sleep-friendly Environment: Your sleep environment plays a crucial role in the quality of your sleep. Make sure your bedroom is cool, dark, and quiet. Use blackout curtains or an eye mask to block out any light that may disrupt your sleep. Consider using earplugs or a white noise machine to mask any unwanted noises. Additionally, invest in a comfortable mattress and pillows that support your body and promote proper alignment. Creating a sleep-friendly environment can significantly enhance the quality of your sleep and help you fall asleep faster. I use a silk sleep mask and I play ocean sounds often. I also listen to hypnosis. I really love Blue Sky Hypnosis on YouTube. Find him here. He has a lot of different topics and some of them are subliminal so you just hear nature sounds not talking even though the messages are built into the hypnosis. Go into settings and make sure you hit the loop video so it plays all night. I also have a special pillow that I got from my chiropractor. He measured my neck and then sent my measurements in to this company to make my pillow. This was ten years ago and I still have the pillow and it’s not work out. It keeps my neck in alignment when I sleep. It looks like this.

3. Practice Healthy Sleep Habits: Adopting healthy sleep habits can greatly improve your sleep quality. Avoid consuming caffeine or alcohol close to bedtime, as they can interfere with your sleep patterns. Limit your exposure to electronic devices, such as smartphones and tablets, before bed, as the blue light emitted from these devices can suppress melatonin production and disrupt your sleep. Engage in regular exercise during the day, but avoid exercising too close to bedtime, as it can make it harder to fall asleep. Finally, avoid large meals and heavy snacks before bed, as they can cause discomfort and indigestion, making it difficult to sleep.

By implementing these three strategies - establishing a consistent sleep routine, creating a sleep-friendly environment, and practicing healthy sleep habits - you can greatly improve the quality of your sleep and wake up feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. Remember, a good night's sleep is essential for your overall health and well-being, so prioritize it and make it a priority in your daily routine.

how to
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Possibly ironically, I am reading this at 4am.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.