Motivation logo

My Self Love Journey

My Self Love Journey

By NanashPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like

My Journey to Self-love has not been an easy one. Even though I am still on this journey but I believe I am better than the Me I was before today. 

I know how difficult it is to wake up and not want to see yourself or a reflection of yourself. The feeling of wanting to vanish or not exist. at all.

During this Journey, I have consistently developed certain habits that have helped me and which I want to share with you in this article.

What You Should Know

Finding Myself

I had always been lost, not knowing exactly who I am either the girl with a skin condition or a girl who yearns to be something else. It was always a battle of identity, I neither knew who I truly was nor what I was aspiring to be like. 

I will tell you what I mean by finding myself. To me finding myself was about understanding who I truly am so I could live authentically. So this is about authentic living. This means cultivating the courage to be imperfect, to set boundaries, and to allow ourselves to be vulnerable.

 I believe aligning my actions, values, and choices with my authentic self has helped me experience a greater sense of fulfillment and purpose.

Most people say "Do what you love and what makes you happy" but if you don't find yourself how can you do what makes you happy>

I believe clearly that Knowing ourselves helps us identify our interests; things that will make us happy and that was exactly what I did. 

Finding myself means I acknowledge my insecurities, strengths, and weaknesses. I am aware of the fact that I am not perfect and I am also aware of the fact the something is amazing about me.

Forgiving Myself

Self-forgiveness is often underestimated. Forgive yourself for the things that aren't your fault. I practice self-forgiveness always. I didn't create myself and therefore have no right to punish myself. 

Sometimes I look at myself  and tell her, "It is okay, None of this is your fault, you are doing just good."

Instances where I make mistakes and I feel so much shame and guilt, allowing myself to wallow in this feeling for days, weeks, and months was torn on my flesh. I think withholding the feeling of shame,  and guilt damages the roots from which love grows. So,  I practice shame and guilt release. Yes, I have made mistakes but it is okay, I tell myself the lessons learned from them and encourage myself to just go ahead.

Practicing Self-compassion

I practice self-compassion. Most often we feel compassion for others but real compassion is when you can be compassionate to yourself.  Being soft and kind to my dear self and knowing that I deserve that gentleness.  Dr. Kristin Neff, a leading researcher in the field of self-compassion, noted that self-compassion is about self-kindness, common humanity, and mindfulness. 

I try to treat myself well through the things I love. I no longer deny myself the ability to wear those stunning clothes or eat that delicious meal when I have the ability to do so.

I take care of myself and trust me it really feels good. Practicing self-compassion is a continuous journey and all you need is to start with the little things you can. Self-care, and positive talk about yourself.

Being in the mood of Gratitude

Expressing gratitude daily has helped me.  Being grateful to my creator and myself for coming this far and not giving up.  Gratitude is one amazing thing that can help you with your daily struggle and when you are struggling with self-love.  

Expressing gratitude is important that,  "You cut yourself off from the supply of awesomeness when you are not in a state of gratitude" Anthony Robbins. So yes, I am always in the mood of gratitude. 

Sometimes I appreciate myself for doing awesome and for being strong. Overall I give gratitude to my creator for making me this way for I am far better than 1000s of people. I look at anything beautiful about me and give gratitude. I think of how powerful I keep growing and I give gratitude. 

Not Giving Excuses

I used to tell myself, that when I finally get rid of my skin rushes, I will be happy and I will be beautiful. What I forgot to understand was that all these excuses blind me from seeing what I am made of.

I used to dwell so much on something yet to come or may not come and by doing so I lost count to love and appreciate the me now. 

How did I stop this? 

I start to believe in the me I see now not tomorrow me.  I make the now me happy and not wait on some unrealistic expectations that i think can make me better. 

Self-love is actually a dynamic and continual process. It doesn't happen overnight. It requires constant and conscious effort. I can not say I have fully gotten there, I am still on this journey and I believe some of the things I have shared here can equally elevate you.

self helphappinessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Nanash

The scars that married my body left bruises so deep that the mind is constantly wandering to derive tranquility. In my unique way, I take you along a journey into the echoes from my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.