Motivation logo

Music for ADHD & focusing

How my focus improved with ambient music

By Sassi Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Music for ADHD & focusing
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

Having lived with ADHD for some time (without even knowing it my whole childhood and teenage times), I know how difficult it can be to stay focused and stay motivated. Especially during work or things, which you don't want to do OR that you are not really 100% interested in. However, I struggle to manage my days, and often feel disorganized. I recently discovered the benefit of relaxation music. When there is silence I am nervous and not focused, but when the radio is on, I am also easily distracted from the song text. So I started to search for a “solution”. At the end of the story, I will also show you which music and sounds I use. So stay tuned (or scroll down)...

Relaxing music was a huge improvement for me. Whenever I feel distracted or just feel that silence is making me nervous, I put on some calming music. Soothing melodies and natural sounds create a peaceful background that helps block distractions and keeps me motivated. Or at least not too distracted.

So I did my research.

I found out, that studies have shown that ambient music and nature sounds have multiple benefits for people with ADHD. It reduces stress and anxiety, increases focus and focus, improves sleep quality, reduces impulsivity, and provides healthy coping mechanisms. These benefits are important to me, and I am glad to have found something that works. I recommend that anyone with ADHD try ambient music to try to be more focused and relaxed. It may not be a cure, but it can be a powerful and effective way to improve your overall quality of life.

Oh, and I have to say: In the beginning, I felt weird listening to this for me, new kind of music. Now I listen to it basically the WHOLE day, while working. Since I got issues to work in offices, surrounded by many people and stress through my boss, I quit my job and work since then for myself. But about this I will tell you more in the next stories. :)

Here are some interesting facts I found out & the music I listen to:

1. Reduces stress and anxiety

People with ADHD often experience high levels of stress and anxiety due to their inability to focus or complete tasks. Relaxation music has been shown to reduce stress and anxiety by slowing down the heart rate, decreasing blood pressure, and can let you feel calm and relaxed.

2. Improves focus and concentration

Relaxation music can improve focus and concentration by providing a soothing background that helps people with ADHD tune out distractions and focus on the task better.

3. Enhances Sleep Quality

Many people with ADHD struggle with sleep issues, such as insomnia or restless sleep. Relaxation music can help with better sleep quality by relaxing people and let them fall asleep faster. It can also reduce the likelihood of waking up during the night, leading to better overall sleep quality and increased daytime productivity.

4. Reduces Impulsivity

People with ADHD often struggle with impulsivity, which can lead to impulsive behaviour or poor decision-making. Relaxation music can reduce impulsivity.

5. Provides a Healthy Coping Mechanism

Relaxation music can provide a healthy coping mechanism that they can be used to manage symptoms of stress. It can help you to feel more in control of your thoughts and emotions, reducing impulsive or disruptive behaviour.

6. Conclusion

I just can tell you, from my perspective, that relaxation music really helps me, especially nature sounds or really calm sounds.

I found this “Ambient sound” music, in high quality and without ads in between. The website looks a bit too full a weird, but the music and sounds are really nice! Check it out here.

happinesssuccessself helphow tohealinggoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Sassi

Life is a rollercoaster, and so is writing. I write down all my thoughts since I was a child. So you get a view inside my head and what I am thinking, and also topics I care about, to make life easier and wonderful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sassi is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.