Motivation logo

Mapping My Tomorrow: Crafting a Life Vision Beyond Goals

How I’m Building a Future with Purpose and Passion

By HeatherPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1
Mapping My Tomorrow: Crafting a Life Vision Beyond Goals
Photo by Arnel Hasanovic on Unsplash

Creating goals can ignite a sense of hope and renewal, especially during New Year’s, which happens to be one of my favorite times for this very reason. However, despite my love for goal-setting, I’ve often found my objectives to be somewhat scattered, lacking a unifying focus. To remedy this, I’m taking a step that I believe could benefit anyone: crafting a vision for my ideal life. This vision is divided into categories that are profoundly meaningful to me: Physical Health, Mental Health, Relationships, and Business.

Physical Health

My vision for physical health is to reach and maintain my ideal weight. I believe this will not only improve my overall health but will also provide me with the energy needed to engage in fun activities without the constant interruption of pain or inflammation. Achieving this will allow me to live life to the fullest, sharing in the joy of active moments with friends and family.

Mental Health

Mentally, I aim to master the art of not sweating the small stuff. I don’t want to waste energy worrying about others’ opinions of me. I envision a future where I can approach challenges logically and maintain composure even under pressure. Building confidence in myself is crucial, especially as I work to overcome the deep-seated fear of appearing foolish that has followed me since childhood. I want to break free from this fear and become the outgoing person I aspire to be.

Relationships

In terms of relationships, I want to deepen the friendships I’ve begun to form, especially with the folks at our new church who share our enjoyment of football and board games. Beyond that, my husband and I have a shared dream of parenthood. While we face challenges in making this dream a reality, we’re committed to exploring fertility treatments in 2024 and considering adoption as a pathway to welcoming a child into our family.

Business

On the business front, my goal is to reach a monthly income of $10,000 from my writing and creative projects. Here are the streams I plan to develop to achieve this:

  1. Creating a YouTube channel to document my self-publishing journey
  2. Growing my Medium account
  3. Publishing my Autumn Harbor Romance Books on Amazon
  4. Writing for Newsbreak
  5. Offering short writing courses on Skillshare
  6. Developing longer writing courses for Udemy

If I can earn approximately $1,666 from each of these ventures, I’ll meet my financial goal. More than just a number, this goal represents the ability to help family members in need — something I’ve been unable to do in the past and am determined to change.

Final Thoughts

With this comprehensive life vision, my goals now have a path to follow, each one a step closer to the life I’ve imagined. These aspirations are more than just wishes; they’re commitments to myself and the future I want to build. As each day passes, every action taken is a brushstroke on the canvas of my life, gradually painting the picture I’ve envisioned — one where my health, happiness, and professional success are not just dreams, but the reality I live every day.

Take the Leap

And now, I turn to you — yes, you, reading this with your own mosaic of dreams and goals. I encourage you to take a moment, perhaps the one right after you finish reading this article, to start sketching out your vision. What does your ideal life look like in terms of health, personal growth, relationships, and career? It’s not about grand resolutions that fizzle out come February; it’s about setting the stones on the path to the future you deserve.

Grab a notebook, open a new document, or even speak it into existence. However you choose to do it, start today. Create that vision. Set those goals. And step by step, let’s walk towards our ideal lives together. Because the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single, intentional step. Are you ready to take yours?

Previously posted on Medium.com

successself helphappinessgoals
1

About the Creator

Heather

My dream is to make a full time living writing about the imaginary people and places in my head.

Check out my work at bio.link/heathercorbett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.