Motivation logo

Like a Moth to a Flame

What to Do When the Light Goes Out

By Joelle E🌙Published about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
68
Like a Moth to a Flame
Photo by Leon Contreras on Unsplash

In life, most of the time, we think of ourselves like butterflies. In childhood as in any cycle of growth, we start out as caterpillars. Balancing curiosity and resistance, excitement and anxiety, as we explore our surroundings. Gathering food and knowledge of the world around us as we grow.

Then, the time may come when we find ourselves in a cocoon of transformation. It’s dark, and quiet; and though we anxiously wait for it to be daylight again, deep down, we are not afraid. For we know that this is the period when the unseen forces around us and within us–all the roots we have spent years growing and nurturing–are conspiring to turn us into butterflies.

But there’s another side to this metaphor–one which anyone who has known darkness will understand. One that answers the question:

What do we do when the light goes out?

The life cycles of butterflies depend upon the presence of the sun. But sometimes, in our lives, we may find ourselves in a season where it feels like the sun isn’t present at all. Where the night feels too long, too dark, to simply sit and wait for the sunrise.

In these seasons, we can take a lesson from a not-so-distant cousin of the butterfly: the moth.

The moth is deeply, senselessly attracted to light in all its forms. A lit candle or a florescent bulb can confuse the moth’s navigational systems, making it think it’s found a potential source of food. Once it’s found one of these light sources, the moth will hover near it for hours on end, never mind that it’s not receiving the kind of sustenance that will help it grow. The moth seems simply happy to wait near the light.

It may seem biologically useless to cultivate this kind of patience. But for creatures who feed on light, this kind of patience is survival itself. So how do we find and generate light where it feels like none exists?

The answer will vary among all of us. For me, I have found that creativity carries a unique quality to make us feel connected to ourselves where we didn’t before. Sitting by the computer as I write this, there’s a sense of communion, almost a spiritualness, between me and the page. Writing the truth of what I’m experiencing and making it into something beautiful is a balm for the soul. And hanging out in this space, I find myself in the presence of a certain kind of glow.

We may not always feel creative in darkness–because let’s face it, standing still is not exactly generative. But there are still things we can do to get that motor running. If you look back at the times and moments in your life when you were most creative, you can probably identify some common themes in the situation or environment beyond just yourself. Were you responding to a prompt? Were you having a writing workshop with friends, or sitting up at night alone by the light of your lamp? Did a specific event spur your inspiration? Even if it feels like it came from just you, there’s always an outside force there in communion with your creativity, helping the process along. That’s just part of what it means to be a human being.

I feel my most creative when in a coffee shop or public space, taking in the energy of others and watching the world go by. Lately, I've been visiting these types of places with my computer like a naturalist: notebook out, always ready for inspiration, willing to meet whatever visits me. Without fail, a butterfly will cross my path and make its way onto the page. Then I can bringing that specimen home with me and continue writing, taking comfort in the company of a small friend as we wait out the night together.

When we’re in darkness, darkness feels like a thing onto itself. A dark, sticky mass, a many-legged octopus, dragging us down into quicksand and miring us there. But it’s not. In life as in the daily revolution of the sun, darkness is simply the absence of light.

The sun will return, probably sooner than we think, and we will be butterflies again. But while the night is long and starless, let us be like the moth. Let us hover close to things that make us feel alive, taking no shame in our fluffy wings or quirky single-mindedness while we do. It’s only temporary, after all.

As Dumbledore said:

“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

quoteshappinessself helphow tohealingadvice
68

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    A beautiful reflection & sage counsel.

  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Great article. There are times where creating in the darkness, even if you do not feel like doing it, can bring you into the light. If the light runs out; it shall come back on again.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Dumbledore is wise. I missed this gem, but it is now found. I feel like you wrote this while on top of a mountain with monks and a lot of meditation. This about sums up my life, prophetess that you are. WOW! This is inspirational. I have found it at the right time for myself. This is truly a masterpiece written from a very deep place. Congrats my dear.

  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Outstanding, there were so many empowering truths here❣️❣️❣️ As difficult as it may be - the darkness is often the protective stage. No eyes to see. No ears to hear. No mouths to speak, except our internal voice. I felt this, and I have lived it countless times. You crafted the journey so delicately. My favorite lines brought it home: "But while the night is long and starless, let us be like the moth. Let us hover close to things that make us feel alive, taking no shame in our fluffy wings or quirky single-mindedness while we do. It’s only temporary, after all."❣️

  • IvanaCh10 months ago

    Very nice story😍

  • Neesem Khan12 months ago

    This was a great read

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    I love this analogy! Thanks a lot for sharing! 😊

  • This was soooooo amazing and very uplifting! I love that you quoted Dumbledore! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow, this was so good. I feel like, I didn't know I needed to read this, but I did. The analogies are spot on. And you are right, there are certain things that make us feel more creative. I enjoyed hearing about yours. Excellent stuff!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This is great. 💖 Inspiration comes in many forms, but it doesn’t exist in a vacuum. I wish I was more self aware when those moments happen (sometimes they pass me by).

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Joelle, I LOVE this piece! I related to it in so many ways! This line is just beautiful: "For we know that this is the period when the unseen forces around us and within us–all the roots we have spent years growing and nurturing–are conspiring to turn us into butterflies." I absolutely love your example of the moth as well-totally brilliant! I'm so happy I found you here in Top Stories! New Subscriber!

  • Chisi limiabout a year ago

    thats fantastic brother

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    this is beautiful Joelle, i love butterflies too so you had me from the start. trying to think where does my inspiration come from?🤔

  • Tymara Howardabout a year ago

    That was fantastic writing! I enjoyed it

  • MUHAMMAD ABDULLAHabout a year ago

    Great story and ideas . Any one can read my motivational and funny stories if you want I am sure you will like them

  • Kalina Bethanyabout a year ago

    What a cool way to think about moths! Great piece 😊

  • jianabout a year ago

    perfect,I like it.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Joelle, this is my first time reading your work. (Thanks, oh wonderful feed!) Your *pace* feels so unique. I know that's a strange thing to comment on, because I also happen to resonate with every word of the content of this piece as well, but there is something about the way you took your time with this that just feels so... True. True to your content, and perhaps (a gamble here, not knowing you) even true to You. Either way, outstanding work on this beautiful article. Looking forward to reading more of your work, you have a new subscriber :)

  • Taha Khanabout a year ago

    Amazing and inspiring story! Such a good writer.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I especially love your description of writing in the coffee shop!! 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.