Motivation logo

How to Talk Properly

Communication Skills

By Mattie :)Published 3 months ago 3 min read
3
How to Talk Properly
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Communication is such an important tool of life. Yet actually speaking to someone else can be rather difficult based on the topics within the conversation whether they're important or more casual.

The key to being a part of a proper conversation actually has less to do with speaking, yet more to do with listening.

So many times I've struggled to hold a conversation, because I've had trouble listening really listening to what the other person is saying. It's sort of like reading a book or watching a film. You see the words or the pictures on the screen, but don't exactly understand what is going down. You may try really hard to grasp the information, yet leave the theater confused and unsure.

This sadly seems like a norm of society nowadays. People are either trying so hard to speak to someone else about something important, yet they don't really get their point across correctly. Others might simply not understand or even care about what the the person is saying which is alright, yet there are better ways to handle these situations before they get out of hand, possibly ruining relationships entirely.

Don't panic!

Learning how to speak well or just keeping the casual conversation a float is challenging, yet not impossible. It doesn't matter if you're an extrovert or an introvert. It's good to talk to others and have healthy, heartwarming conversations whether it be with friends, family, or even a serious conversation over work.

Sometimes I struggle to have a proper conversation cause my mind isn't processing things quick enough. The other person maybe trying to talk about something so important to them, yet I'm not understanding, so I struggle to really speak to them and show them I truly care even though I didn't really get it. Don't lie to people. They will see right through it.

Instead of lying, try your best to be honest like sorry but I'm not understanding in a calm and less demeaning way. Laughing and smiling during this moments may also lessen the tension building between you, leading to a less stressful and more fun, joyful moment of conversation.

Keep it short and sweet. You don't have to summarize everything. Tell others how you feel within a few minutes and then move on to some other topic to really keep the conversation alive and fluid instead of talking about the same concept over and over again.

Be kind. Tell them how much you admire them or like how you like the shirt or pair of shoes they're wearing instead of jumping directly to the point you're trying to make. Conversations aren't war zones. Be open and direct.

Eye contact. Eye contact is very important to having a good conversation. If you're looking passed the person speaking to you or glancing at your phone, watch, or something else they will probably think you're being rude even though you're trying not to be rude.

Facial expressions can also be a major throw off. It's happened to me so many times. Someone just glances at my face and based on my expression they think I'm being rude or something negative which is false. Again smile, laugh, and make proper eye contact will usually smooth things out.

Don't feel bad if you're struggling to hold a conversation. Communication is a skill. Skills take time to improve, yet with proper practice and a positive attitude things will work out and get better in time. If you have any tips on how to hold a conversation please let me know in the comment section. I'd love to hear your thoughts :)

self helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
3

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    This is such an important topic, Mattie. You gave a lot of great advice as well. I used to have a problem with eye contact. It was just weird to me at times. But I've gotten over it (mostly, that is. lol) Fortunately, I'm a good listener. But when it comes to adding a comment to what they said. It doesn't always come out as planned. I think it's because I'm searching for the right words to say because of overthinking. Then I wish I would have said this instead of that. I just tell myself to go with the flow, cause it's not like it's normal to have huge gaps in between responses while you figure out what you want to say. Just say whatever comes to mind. You can add to it as the conversation goes on. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Mattie.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.