Motivation logo

Freedom from Guilt and Shame

A Life of Peace Filled with Love!

By Diane Mary MarkeyPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like
Freedom from Guilt and Shame
Photo by Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

Kristina V. took the photo from unsplash.com

Repentant tears wash out the stain of guilt. (Saint Augustine)

Guilt is to the spirit what pain is to the body. (Elder David A. Bednar)

The beauty of life is, while we cannot undo what is done, we can see it, understand it, learn from it and change so that every new moment is spent not in regret, guilt, fear or anger but wisdom, understanding, and love. (Jennifer Edwards)

Unconditional love is ever-present in your heart, soul, spirit and mind. Love works to free you from guilt and shame. Love is limitless and ready to use whenever you need it. Love inspires and motivates when your load is heavy.

Love waits patiently for you to knock and seek its wisdom. Love helps you to understand your emotions. Love is the still small voice speaking to your soul.

The topic of this story is based on an emotion I have been fighting my entire adult life.

Being a dedicated follower of Jesus Christ I know in my heart and spirit I should trust God the Father in all things. He has total control over every aspect of my life. If I allow Him. I am a child of God and He loves me with His perfect, infinite and unconditional love.

The problem-the guilt you carry around with you when you make a mistake. For instance, when a harsh word is said that hurts a loved one.

If this guilt is not dealt with. The shame that tells you that you are a “bad person” may be more than you can bear.

Allow me if I may. To explore these intimate concerns.

When I make a mistake, I pray for forgiveness. I seek the presence of God the Father. He is always there, available any time. Loving me and listening.

I tell Him of each wrong thing I have done. State my true sorrow and my genuine intent to change. I believe in His promise of forgiveness. Again I am cleansed, reconciled and righteous in His eyes. I am again reconciled to God. I am again His Child and loved by Him.

Yet, still, I fight these emotions. Still feel I make the same mistakes over and over again. Still burdened with unnecessary guilt.

Timothy Eberly took the photo from unsplash.com

You seek freedom from the load that guilt burdens your heart and soul with. You crave rest and emotional peace.

Like me, you find guilt is an emotion that is hard to shake. But with love, you can do it.

Firstly, I have heard that guilt in itself can be used as a tool of love. How’s that?

Guilt can trigger your conscience. For you to speak soft words that a mistake has been made. Harsh words have been spoken. Somebody has been hurt.

If you take notice of these loving signs of guilt you can take the necessary steps of reconciliation.

You use your feelings of guilt as a gift of love. As a signal that shows you that you have hurt someone. Then guilt can be the trigger leading to an apology. It is entirely up to the person you have hurt whether or not to accept these words of “sorry”.

The loving gift of guilt when used appropriately gives you the freedom to move on. The shackles of guilt are removed and left behind. Perhaps, the relationship is restored.

Jose Fontano took the photo from unsplash.com

You have acknowledged that you made a mistake and felt bad about it. You are not going to make a bad situation worse by carrying around unneeded guilt.

Consider the differences between guilt and shame:

  • Guilt is about conviction.
  • Shame is about condemnation.

Alistair MacRobert took the photo from unsplash.com

Repentant tears wash out the stain of guilt. (Saint Augustine)

Guilt is to the spirit what pain is to the body. (Elder David A. Bednar)

The beauty of life is, while we cannot undo what is done, we can see it, understand it, learn from it and change so that every new moment is spent not in regret, guilt, fear or anger but wisdom, understanding, and love. (Jennifer Edwards)

Unconditional love is ever-present in your heart, soul, spirit and mind. Love works to free you from guilt and shame. Love is limitless and ready to use whenever you need it. Love inspires and motivates when your load is heavy.

Love waits patiently for you to knock and seek its wisdom. Love helps you to understand your emotions. Love is the still small voice speaking to your soul.

The topic of this story is based on an emotion I have been fighting my entire adult life.

Being a dedicated follower of Jesus Christ I know in my heart and spirit I should trust God the Father in all things. He has total control over every aspect of my life. If I allow Him. I am a child of God and He loves me with His perfect, infinite and unconditional love.

The problem-the guilt you carry around with you when you make a mistake. For instance, when a harsh word is said that hurts a loved one.

If this guilt is not dealt with. The shame that tells you that you are a “bad person” may be more than you can bear.

Allow me if I may. To explore these intimate concerns.

When I make a mistake, I pray for forgiveness. I seek the presence of God the Father. He is always there, available any time. Loving me and listening.

I tell Him of each wrong thing I have done. State my true sorrow and my genuine intent to change. I believe in His promise of forgiveness. Again I am cleansed, reconciled and righteous in His eyes. I am again reconciled to God. I am again His Child and loved by Him.

Yet, still, I fight these emotions. Still feel I make the same mistakes over and over again. Still burdened with unnecessary guilt.

This article is also published in Medium.https://medium.com/@dianemarkey920/freedom-from-guilt-and-shame-5788cfcf4cc6

If anything within my words you found helpful. Please do send me a comment, Diane.



successself helphealinghappinessgoals
Like

About the Creator

Diane Mary Markey

I write short articles dedicated to God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ.

All my articles as truly inspiring and have many Bible texts spread throughout.

My stories and simply written and easy to understand.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.