Motivation logo

Do What You Love

Life is Too Short Not to Live Your Dream

By Jen AuhPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Do What You Love
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

Life is too short to not live your dream. How often have we heard this saying, yet how often do we actually take it to heart and act on it? Many of us have been brought up to believe that success is defined by a high-paying job or a fancy title, rather than by doing what we truly love.

However, as an image consultant who has been fortunate enough to turn her passion into a career, I can say with confidence that doing what you love is not only possible, but it is also the key to living a fulfilling and meaningful life.

As an image consultant, I have the opportunity to make changes for people's lives and help them become better versions of themselves. Whether it is through styling their wardrobe, teaching them how to communicate effectively, or simply helping them to boost their confidence, witnessing my clients thrive confirms that this is my calling. I feel fortunate to be doing what I love and to be able to bring joy and positivity into other people's lives.

However, my journey to becoming an image consultant was not a straight path. In fact, my previous jobs as a fashion/beauty web designer, design director, and creative director for over 20 years seemed to have nothing to do with image consulting. Yet, looking back, I can see how every experience I had in those jobs prepared me for where I am today.

My first job as a web master in Silicon Valley back in 2001 taught me the importance of paying attention to details, working as a team member, and taking feedback to improve my performance. I loved my job back then, and I still do. In fact, I loved all my jobs, and I think that is why I am able to do what I love and bring joy to other people's lives.

I understand that not everyone has the luxury of turning their passion into a career, but I firmly believe that doing what you love should be a top priority in life. Too often, we get caught up in the daily grind and forget to pursue our passions. We make excuses, telling ourselves that we do not have the time, the resources, or the support we need to pursue what we truly love. But the truth is, life is too short to not do what makes us happy.

When we do what we love, we are more productive, more creative, and more engaged in our work. We feel fulfilled and satisfied, which leads to greater overall happiness and well-being. It is also worth noting that doing what we love does not necessarily mean quitting our current job and pursuing a new career. Sometimes, it simply means finding ways to incorporate our passions into our daily lives.

For example, if you love photography but work in finance, try taking pictures on your lunch break or on weekends. If you love writing but work in sales, start a blog or write articles on the side. These small steps can help us stay connected to our passions and keep them alive, even when we cannot pursue them full-time.

So, doing what you love is the key to living a fulfilling and meaningful life. It may not always be easy, and it may require sacrifice and hard work, but it is worth it. We all have passions and talents that are waiting to be explored and shared with the world.

Life is too short to not live our dreams, so let us take the first step towards doing what we truly love today.

successself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Jen Auh

I'm a founder of STYiLES, a bestselling author, a creative director and an image consultant with 20+ years of experience in the beauty/fashion industries. I share my expertise to help others thrive. Learn more at www.jenauh.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.