Motivation logo

Ascension

From the Bottom Up...

By Latoya Giles Published 3 months ago 3 min read
1

A lot can happen in one day, let alone in one year. The year 2023 was a very difficult one. It was most certainly a year full of trials, tribulations, lessons and loss. I am a single mother of two. I have two daughters. I became a mother at the age of twenty. I actually ended up walking across the stage at 5 months pregnant with my oldest daughter. I waddled across that stage proudly! Ten years later, I was surprised with my youngest daughter. Nice gap, huh?

So, life goes on and time continues to pass. We are now in the year 2019. The world is collectively fighting for its life due to a new contagious and widespread disease called Covid-19. This disease would also be referred to as Coronavirus. The whole planet shuts down. Society stumbles through and eventually gets back to some form of "normal" by around 2022-ish. Covid left a lot of devastation in its wake: lives lost, people's health forever changed, jobs lost...so much devastation.

I found myself caught up in the aftermath as well. It was like dominos. My job was the first thing to go. It may not have been as bad if I was able to collect unemployment benefits, but my job fought it. I was able to get two unemployment payments of $900. My car note at the time was $347. My car insurance was $239 a month. The car was the second thing to go. Domino number two has fallen. The house was the last to go. Thirteen days before Christmas, I got a message from the property manager of our complex: "We are no longer extending residency to you and your children. You have to be moved out by January 11, 2023. Happy Holidays!"

so, the last domino has fallen. I have essentially lost everything. I was dying. I had to be, or at least LOOK strong for my children. If I am scared or worried, they will be scared or worried. Also, Christmas was coming in less than two weeks. I had to be "merry". All the while, I had absolutely no idea where my children and I would go. Where would we live after January 11th? I did what most people do, I called my mommy. I needed something only a mother could give. As soon as she picked up, I started to cry. I cried and cried. I started to hyperventilate. I didn't know it, but my dad was sitting right next to her. He calmly explained to me that as long as he and my mother are still here, I will always have a place to stay.

Ok, let us recap here:

-I have lost my job

-I have lost my car

-I have lost my house

-my children and I are set to move back home with my parents

That brings us to end of 2023. Everyone is preparing for the arrival of the new year. I have been preparing too. 2024 will be a year of progress. 2024 will be a year of redemption. I created a vision board. I have goals. I will achieve them all, one step at a time:

STEP 1- get a job

STEP 2- save money

STEP 3- get a car

STEP 4- get a place

My plans are already in motion. I start my new job in just three days. I actually have a full and part time job. I have been to the bottom, now it is time for me to reach the top: "A dream deferred, is not a dream denied." To be continued...y'all stay tuned.

successself helphow tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gail Wylie3 months ago

    Hugs......have faced tough times in the past and managed to survive. My heart is with you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.