Motivation logo

What it 'do?

Black owned businesses: hair salon

By Latoya Giles Published 3 years ago 3 min read
3

Black women are different. Black women are unique, and we black women are particular! Especially particular about our hair. I had the same stylist from elementary school to high school graduation. I ONLY got a new one as an adult because the one I had moved from the shop up the street from my parents house. My next stylist came as a recommendation from a close coworker of mine at the time. She ended up being really good, so I continued to go back. She was my hair stylist for about 5 years. She stopped doing hair. That really sucked. As I said, we black women are particular about our hair which means we are particular about the stylist! Since I had lost my last two stylists, I had no one to do my hair. I learned how to do some stuff myself. I was my own "stylist" for a long time. Social media came through and changed the game. Social media gave us instant access to people. I could find a stylist, look at pictures of her work, read reviews AND book an appointment in the same damn place and the same damn time! That's how I saw Cynell. Ms Cynell Robertson. She is the sister in law of a person I went to school with. Our virtual friendship was completely by chance. She is a mother. She is a business owner. She is a hair stylist. Hair and Nellz is her own creation. She owns it. She runs it. She has a big personality and an even bigger smile, a positive attitude and confidence in her voice. She has a cozy salon that always makes you feel right at home. You thirsty? She got you. Music to ease your mind, reading materials or just good conversation? She got you! She has been doing hair since the age of fifteen. She is now a thirty-eight year old mother of four. She once worked in a local hospital and just did hair on the weekends. Hair has always been a part of her life. But, upon losing that job, she took that as a sign to pursue hair full time. That is how Hair and Nellz was born. As moms, we are more than willing to do whatever it takes for our children, and baby? That is what sis did. I would go to the end of the earth and back for mine...ok?

I am very inspired by this woman. I admire her as a mom. I admire her as a business owner (social media has allowed me to watch her grow and see her business unfold). Mostly though, I admire her as a black woman. A strong one. We black women already have enough on our plates and enough outside pressure from society, then you add on being a single mom. You have to cook, clean, work a job (or in today's economy, two jobs) and care for your children. You are expected to still do these things when you are sick or tired or sad. We all have so much more in common than we think to be honest and we need to stick together. Lift each other up. Provide support even...Losing a job can be a traumatic situation (I should know, I have been there before). It can be super stressful. Even more stressful when children are involved. Even MORE stressful if the lost job was the only one in the household. From one black mother to another, from one black business owner to another (I am claiming it! This time next year, people will know my name and my work. Just watch!)...SALUTE! *screaming to the hilltops* BLACK GIRLS ROCK! So watch us work...

success
3

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.