Motivation logo

Addiction Is A Disease, And It’s Not Something To Be Ashamed Of - My Alcohol Free Journey

Time to take a step back and reconsider your relationship with it.

By Lana FauziPublished about a year ago 3 min read
pexels.com | Edward Eyer

I'd like to discuss alcohol. I don't want to sound preachy, but I believe it is critical to have a discussion about this subject.

I remember the first time I drank alcohol. I was at a friend's house when I was offered a beer. I took a sip, and to be honest, I didn't care for the flavor.

But, well, you know how peer pressure works. So I kept drinking, and before I knew it, I was in a good mood. That, I suppose, was the beginning of my relationship with alcohol.

After a few years, I found myself drinking more and more frequently. It became a way for me to cope with stress, anxiety, and all the other problems that life throws at you, rather than just the occasional beer with friends.

I've witnessed friends and family members battle alcoholism, and the toll it takes on their lives is devastating. It has an impact on their relationships, jobs, health, and pretty much every other aspect of their lives.

That was also a problem for me. I'm sure I could accomplish a lot more if I didn't drink so much alcohol.

So, what's the answer? I'm not saying you have to give up alcohol entirely, but it might be time to take a step back and reconsider your relationship with it.

Consider whether drinking is beneficial or detrimental to your life. If it's the latter, it's time to make a change.

pexels.com | William Fortunato

Of course, it isn't always that easy. Breaking any addiction is difficult, but not impossible. There is assistance available, whether through therapy, support groups, or simply talking to a trusted friend or family member.

I just want to emphasize the importance of not taking alcohol for granted.

It is a potent substance that can have a significant impact on your life. So, let us be mindful of our relationship with it and ensure that it is positive. Cheers!

I understand that alcohol can be a touchy subject, and everyone has their own thoughts and experiences with it. However, the fact remains that alcohol abuse is a serious problem worldwide, not just in the United States.

According to the World Health Organization, alcohol is a leading cause of death and disability, accounting for 5% of the global disease burden.

That's a staggering figure, and it should make us all pause and reflect on our relationship with alcohol.

How can I keep myself from succumbing to alcoholism? The solution is moderation.

It's fine to have a drink or two with your friends, but do so in moderation. And, if I notice myself becoming increasingly reliant on alcohol, it's time to seek help.

I also want to address the stigma associated with alcoholism. Being an alcoholic still carries a lot of shame and guilt, which can make it difficult for people to seek help.

But here's the thing: addiction is a disease that should not be ashamed of.

If you or someone you care about is struggling with alcohol, remember that you are not alone and that help is available.

My message to you is to be mindful of your alcohol relationship. Don't let it take over your life, and don't be afraid to seek help if you require it.

You know what is best for you, just don't let this liquid ruin your lives.

Out of the story, now I try to write as on of the way to help me stay away from alcohol. Hopefuly, my writing can stand with you on your own alcoho free journey. And of course, I tray to collect a penny from my writing.

happinesssuccessself helpquoteshow togoalsadvice

About the Creator

Lana Fauzi

Peace.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lana FauziWritten by Lana Fauzi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.