Motivation logo

A Step-by-Step Guide to Losing Weight and Feeling Great

A Personal Journey to Health and Happiness

By Jitendra jenaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

1. Recognizing the problem: I had always struggled with my weight, but it wasn't until I hit my mid-twenties that I realized just how much it was impacting my life. I felt self-conscious about my appearance, had trouble keeping up with my friends during physical activities, and had developed a number of health issues related to my weight. I knew that something had to change if I wanted to live a long, healthy life.

2. Setting a realistic goal: Before embarking on my weight loss journey, I met with a nutritionist and my doctor to get a sense of what a healthy weight range would be for me. Based on their recommendations, I set a goal of losing 1-2 pounds per week, which would allow me to gradually shed my excess weight in a safe and sustainable way.

3. Developing a healthy eating plan: Working with my nutritionist, I developed a healthy eating plan that was high in lean protein, healthy fats, and fiber, and low in refined carbohydrates and added sugars. I focused on eating whole, nutrient-dense foods, and avoided processed snacks and fast food. I also made sure to eat regularly throughout the day, which helped me avoid binge eating and overeating at mealtimes.

4. Finding enjoyable forms of exercise: I knew that I wouldn't be able to stick to a rigid exercise plan that I didn't enjoy, so I experimented with different forms of physical activity until I found ones that I genuinely liked. For me, this included walking, jogging, yoga, and cycling. I also made an effort to incorporate more movement into my daily routine, such as taking the stairs instead of the elevator, or going for a quick walk during my lunch break.

5. Staying accountable: To stay motivated and accountable, I tracked my food intake and exercise using a fitness app on my phone. I also joined an online weight loss community where I could connect with others who were going through similar experiences. And whenever I hit a plateau or started to feel discouraged, I reminded myself of why I had started this journey in the first place, and looked for ways to reignite my motivation.

6. Allowing for flexibility and balance: While I was committed to my weight loss goals, I also recognized that life can be unpredictable and that it's important to be flexible and forgiving when it comes to food and exercise. I made an effort to find balance between healthy eating and occasional indulgences, and tried not to beat myself up if I missed a workout or had a less-than-perfect day.

7. Celebrating progress: Along the way, I made sure to celebrate my progress and acknowledge all of the hard work that I was putting in. This meant celebrating small milestones, such as fitting into a pair of jeans that previously didn't fit, or being able to run for an extra minute during my workouts. Celebrating these small victories helped me stay motivated and inspired to keep pushing myself towards my ultimate goal.

8. Maintaining progress: After several months of hard work, I had lost over 50 pounds and was feeling better than ever before. But I knew that maintaining my progress would be just as important as losing the weight in the first place. I continued to follow my healthy eating plan and exercise routine, while also allowing myself the occasional treat or indulgence. And whenever I faced a setback or plateau, I reminded myself of how far I had come and how much I had accomplished.

9. Planning Meals and Snacks

Planning my meals and snacks was a crucial part of my weight loss journey. I made sure to include plenty of lean protein, healthy fats, and complex carbohydrates in my meals to keep me feeling full and satisfied throughout the day. I also made sure to include plenty of fruits and vegetables to ensure I was getting all the vitamins and minerals my body needed. For snacks, I opted for things like fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, and nuts to keep me energized and satiated between meals.

10. Staying Hydrated

Drinking enough water was also essential to my weight loss success. I made sure to drink at least 8 glasses of water a day to keep my body hydrated and flush out toxins. Drinking water before meals also helped me feel fuller and eat less, which contributed to my weight loss.

11. Exercising Regularly

I knew that diet alone wouldn't be enough to help me reach my weight loss goals, so I also started exercising regularly. At first, I started with simple activities like walking, cycling, and yoga. As my fitness level improved, I began incorporating more intense workouts like running, weight lifting, and high-intensity interval training (HIIT). Exercising not only helped me burn calories and lose weight, but it also helped improve my mood and energy levels.

12. Keeping Track of Progress

Keeping track of my progress was a key motivator for me. I tracked my weight loss and measurements regularly to see how far I had come and set new goals for myself. I also took progress photos and kept a journal to document my thoughts and feelings throughout my weight loss journey.

13. Staying Accountable

Staying accountable to my weight loss goals was crucial to my success. I found support through online communities, weight loss groups, and friends and family who were also trying to lose weight. Having people to share my successes and challenges with helped me stay motivated and on track.

14. Maintaining a Positive Mindset

Maintaining a positive mindset was also crucial to my weight loss journey. I learned to celebrate small victories and not beat myself up over setbacks or mistakes. I focused on the positive changes I was making in my life and reminded myself that weight loss was a journey, not a destination.

15. Embracing a New Lifestyle

Finally, I realized that my weight loss journey was not just about shedding pounds but about embracing a new lifestyle. I had developed healthy habits that I knew I could maintain for the rest of my life. I enjoyed cooking healthy meals, trying new recipes, and being active. And while there were certainly challenges along the way, I was proud of the progress I had made and excited for what the future held.

Overall, my weight loss journey was a transformative experience that taught me the power of setting goals, making a plan, and sticking to it. By focusing on healthy habits, staying accountable, and maintaining a positive mindset, I was able to lose over 50 pounds and improve my overall health and happiness. And while everyone's journey is unique, I hope that my story can inspire others to take control of their health and make positive changes in their lives.

Click on below link for the Plant vegan Receipe

Click Here

Click Here

advicesuccesssocial mediaself helphow tohealinghappinessgoals
Like

About the Creator

Jitendra jena

As a biotech graduate, my passion for health & wellness led me to explore weight loss. Small, consistent changes helped me shed pounds & gain confidence. Now, I share my journey to inspire others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.