Motivation logo

A Real Beginner's Experience in GYM

Accomplish What Your Mind Discourage

By saarugesan sharukhPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
A Real Beginner's Experience in GYM
Photo by Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

Today, I am writing this article not as an expert lifter or someone who has reached their fitness goals, but as someone who has adapted well to the gym environment and has no problem hitting the gym daily. My goal in fitness is simple, I just wanted to utilize my free time after work to maintain a good physique and feel stress-free after workouts. I believe that by having a good work-life balance, I can achieve this goal and maintain my physical and mental well-being.

When I first entered the gym, I felt alone and had a lot of chaos in my mind. For the first week, I had doubts and overthinking that hindered me from being better. I realized that it was my own mind that was stopping me from starting a new lifestyle. I asked myself, what is the big deal about going to the gym? What made me feel shy or awkward? I came to the realization that society often creates a perception through memes and gossips that make fun of people who are trying to improve themselves. This made me feel self-conscious.

Are the people looking at me?

Are my clothes suitable for the gym?

What if I sweat?

Would my pants have a butterfly shape back there?

Would people notice that?

Would I look stupid for using the machine wrongly?

These doubts and overthinking were holding me back from hitting the gym. But, I knew that I needed to break through them since I really wanted to unlock my body's potential and transform. If I let my overthinking stop me from going to the gym, I would never be able to achieve my physique transformation goals.

By Jesper Aggergaard on Unsplash

JUST DO WHAT YOU KNOW! NOBODY CARES WHAT YOU ARE DOING!

Yes, everyone at the gym is there to transform themselves. Everyone makes mistakes and sweats. So, I reminded myself to just focus on my performance and give my best. I started lifting and gradually increased the weight as days went on. I sweated and my clothes were soaked with sweat, but it didn't matter. Finally, I was free from all the doubts and fears that I had in my mind. And even better, I started to see changes in my overall physique.

I decided to write about my experience to express how our mind and overthinking can sometimes prevent us from being better and taking important steps in life. It's only when we step out of our comfort zone that we can truly learn and experience. This applies to all aspects of life, whether it's in our work or student life. Friends and people won't always be with us in all stages of life, and it's pointless to rely on others to achieve our goals. If you are truly serious about your goals, you have to take action and make progress.

Here are some guides if you a beginner and plan to hit the gym alone

By Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash
  • Have a workout plan.

You can find workout routines online for free. Having a plan will save you time in the gym. If someone is using a machine that you planned to use, you can skip that exercise for the time being and continue with the other exercises in your plan.

  • Watch videos

Before entering the gym, watch and learn the correct forms to perform certain exercises. Choose weights where you can have good control while lifting.

  • Ask out

You may ask anyone who is near you to check on your form. They will definitely help because I did ask for help to check on my form and that dude helped me.

  • Prepare earlier and no excuses.

Always prepare your gym clothes, water bottle and towel earlier, put in your bag. It does not need to be a fancy sports bag, I just used my laptop bag to carry the necessary items. I remember cycling to the gym even when it is raining, so basically no excuses to skip the gym. Why? because when you skip a day, you might miss a lesson to learn and delay your progress. Every day after going gym, I learn something and I will set my mind on how to do better for the next day.

All the best. Together we transform. Thanks for reading.

self help
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeng Yuan Weeabout a year ago

    That’s great advice! I’m just starting gym, thanks!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.