Longevity logo

Utilizing The Spare Time

A Glimpse of my Day

By StaringalePublished 24 days ago 3 min read
2
Utilizing The Spare Time
Photo by Kanchanara on Unsplash

My mom took over the kitchen; she was literally hoarding it. I had been evicted from the kitchen with a single statement, 'Get out! Stay out! I am making a special dish! It's a surprise!'

That only caused my curiosity to increase and I thought up a few ideas to sneak a glimpse.

Taking loud steps so that she would hear, I went away. Now standing in front of the door leading to the backyard garden.

Opening it slowly while praying that it didn't make a sound, I gently padded across the greenery until the kitchen window came into view.

Bending my knees, I crab-walked all the way to the window. Raising my head, I peeked into the kitchen; thankfully, my mom's back was towards me.

Getting busy with all the bowls laid in front of me, I reached out to pull the lid off and was met with a wooden spatula.

Just when did she turn around? Pouting, I was shooed away like a naughty kitten.

Knowing another attempt would be futile since she was going to be even more vigilant, I receded to the living room.

The sun was beginning to set, and I had some time to spare. Not in the mood for studying, reading, or sleeping, I decided on how to utilize this time.

Yesterday I watched a fantasy high school movie, and a particular act had caught my attention. It was one of the main leads who had this unique coin trick that he used all the time; it could even be called his signature move.

I wanted to try it but didn't get the time since I was busy, so I decided to give it a try now.

Skipping to get everything needed, I rummaged through the drawer to get a coin; the golden one caught my attention, grabbing it.

I flipped through my phone, and Youtube came to the rescue. After watching a few short videos, I decided to give it a try.

It involved flipping a coin in the air, catching it two to three times, followed by making it disappear and reappear at will.

These kinds of illusionary tricks had always fascinated me, so I was determined to master this one.

A gentle flick and the coin ended up on the floor. "This is going to be harder than it looks," I thought. Time flew by, and I had achieved the mastery of making it flip and catching it without making it fall on the ground.

I kept on practicing until I would be able to do it without much conscious effort, losing track of time as I focused all of my energy on perfecting this illusionary trick.

Finally, after what felt like an eternity, I was able to flawlessly execute the trick without much conscious effort.

Elated at my success, I hopped to my sibling's room to show off my newfound skill.

Showing it to them, I watched as they ran like puppies wagging their tails behind them and begged me to perform it over and over again.

I felt like a wizard, captivating them with just a simple shiny gold coin.

Now sitting in the living room, having just told my siblings off, I think it was worth taking a break from my busy life to try something new and fun.

And who knows, maybe the next time I find myself with time to spare, I'll discover another hidden skill or talent waiting to be explored.

A voice cut in through my thoughts. It was my mom calling that dinner was ready.

Finally, walking towards the kitchen, I wondered what this surprise special dish is. Maybe it is a savory dish or maybe a dessert, what do you think

organiclifestylehumor
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake22 days ago

    Another story that sharpens your ability of presenting something. I like the way you present it. So thank you very much for this piece of story.

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    I like it that's very nice amazing story about spending quality spare time

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.