Longevity logo

Rainy Morning Breakfast Bliss

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished about a month ago 3 min read
1
Rainy Morning Breakfast Bliss
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

It is a chilly Saturday morning. The sun has yet to show itself despite the time on my watch.

Wrapping the blanket tightly around me, I padded to the window to see what was going on with the sun.

Pulling back slightly, I peeked out - it was dark, as if it were still night, and I could barely make out anything. The fog was not helping either.

The window was cold to the touch and blurred. Wiping the window with my hand to get a clear idea of what was going on outside, I found the culprit - the dark clouds in the sky were hiding the sun. From the looks of it, it is probably going to rain cats and dogs.

Letting the curtain go, I hurried to the kitchen with my blanket wrapped around me for warmth.

Opening the drawer, I took out the candle box and began setting it up. A few went in the kitchen while the rest lit up the living room.

The next task on hand was breakfast. Because it is likely that the rain will cause a power outage and it is quite hard to cook with no gas or electricity.

Planning to give my mom some rest today and seeing the condition outside, I decided to cook for the entire family.

Putting some eggs in water, I set them aside to boil. Taking out the boiled shredded chicken from the fridge, I threw it into the pan with oil, a few leaves of cilantro, and seasonings.

Stirring it around until everything came together, I turned off the stove and let it cool. The eggs were done by now, so I peeled them and placed them on the table, covering them.

Taking some flour, curd, and salt, I kneaded a dough. Turning it into small pieces and then rolling it out, I filled it with the mixture I had just made.

Placing them on the baking trays, I popped them into the oven. Turning around, I cleaned everything up and then prepared a bowl of mixed fruits.

Placing the kettle on the stove, I let the water boil before adding in the bag of tea leaves with apricot slices. Letting it simmer, I watched as the color transitioned beautifully, from transparent to brown.

Taking it off the stove, I placed it on the table with the rest. 'Ding' echoed in the room, telling me that the stuffed soft fluffy tortillas were ready.

Taking it out, I placed them on the counter just in time as I heard rumbling followed by pouring rain.

The raindrops hit the window, making tapping sounds. Cutting the stuffed tortillas like a pizza, I set them on the table and cleaned up the rest.

Just as I sat to eat, with a 'bang' the thunder roared and the power went out.

Listening to the sound of the falling raindrops, I enjoyed my breakfast.

My mom entered the kitchen, probably in a hurry as her hair was roughly put up. She must have thought about breakfast and the power outage.

Giving a laugh, I dragged her to the table where everything was set and watched as she gave a sigh of relief, rubbing my head, causing me to curl up like a cat in her arms.

I watched her appreciate the food by taking a bite and moaning in delight, giving me a sign of appreciation.

And here we sat, eating breakfast together while the others were still asleep. It was a nice mother-daughter bonding moment.

Have you ever experienced such a bonding moment with your mother? Have you ever cooked breakfast for the family?

See you all next time!

lifestylebeauty
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    I like such a way of story telling because it includes almost natural things happen in our day to day life. You have converted it into a story. Wonderful!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    That picture looks delicious! What a way to draw a crowd :) Your story was beautiful...made me think of how much my mother loved a cup of coffee and some toast, eggs in any style. I had the honor of cooking for my mom when she lived with us when she couldn't care for herself any longer. She relocated to Heaven in 2013...still miss her.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.