Longevity logo

Unexpected Shifts & Unwavering Care

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2

Today began as any other day waking up early, having a hearty meal, an hour of meditation and morning walk to the campus. Reaching the building I pushed opened the double glass door of the main building, the chilly morning swept in with a 'whoosh'. Reaching the stairs I quickly headed to the first floor, reaching the allotted room I slid open the door. The lecture hall was empty, looking at the time and the schedule I was pretty sure I was at the right place at the right time but the absence of the lingering students told me that something was amiss.

Admist my confusion, I took out my phone to call my classmate and clear everything up but was immediately hit with a better idea when I saw the 'Classroom Attendent' enter. Putting the phone back, I approached the attended trying to clear my confusion. From him I got to know that our esteemed 'Department Head' just made a change early morning, and this big change was that all the students will have clinical rotations in the morning and lectures at noon. Thanking the attended I headed to the hospital side.

The Teaching Hospital is attached to our study campus so it wasn't much of a big deal. Taking a shorter way, I went to the third floor, taking out my 'Student Pass' I swiped it at the connected entrance and entered the hospital. There was a major change that I noticed immediately, the medical staff were talking quietly, there was no rush, it was pretty much quiet the only sounds were of the quiet whispers and the various patient monitoring devices, the lights were dimmed out and the patients were sleeping. This was not the sight I was accustomed to when I did my rotations at noon. It was a big contrast, greeting the various staff members quietly as I can I went to the 'Peads Ward'. My phone buzzed just on time, smiling to myself I picked it up, a soothing voice full of care and warmth was asking me have I reached, answering back I told her I have reached safely in one piece and was heading for my clinical rotation. Hanging up the phone, if you have guessed that was my mom then you are absolutely right that was my mom. She is such  a sweet-heart checking up on me every 2 hours sometimes even after 1 hour.

This was something that annoyed my older and younger siblings so much but to me it was something that gave me comfort. It makes me feel like a chick looking for shelter, comfort, protection and love under my Mother-Hen of a mom's wing. It is a feeling that is like positive silent motivation gently guiding you through the day with optimism. It is something that might seem insignificant to you guys but it is something I cherish very much, just think about it for a second even in the hustle bustle and chaos of daily life someone is using their precious time to check on you, and is thinking about you all the day.

This parent-child bonding is something I wish everyone have because now a days when I look around I don't get this vibe from the people around me. I have seen 14 year old kids asking there parents to back off and let them be independent, same with the parents I have seen them push their high-school kids out to get their own apartments and live their life. That's not independence, it's like letting your kids in the open experiencing the ups and downs of life by themself and in the process making their own life. Not to be rude to anyone but that's just my opinion yours might differ, and I have no problem with that.

You might be thinking that my mom is over-protective and suffocating but it is nothing like that, she has all of us siblings to grow and experience things, showing us the negative things and allowing us to experience positive things in this way we know the negatives without experiencing it and experienced the positive things by participating in it. Even now my elder who is married gets a daily visit and a call from mom, and I know that my mom doesn't get a wink of sleep until we are back home safely. When I go back home in the afternoon I am greeted with welcoming arms of my mom and all the tiredness of the day just goes away.

Note: I didn't have time for proof-reading it so Pardon me for any mistakes.

mental healthhealthadvice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood5 months ago

    I love the organic progression here - from an unexpected hitch in your day, to a wider consideration of not just the role of family, but how this differs from person to person. It's very true, as you observe yourself, that there are children and teens who demand their space, and others who need equally as much a close relationship with a parent. My family was like yours, because my brother and I were exact opposites in that! He was always very close to our mother, while I...well, I shudder now to think back on my James Dean pretensions. Suffice to say I bought a second-hand leather jacket and scowled a lot...! By the way, your Mom doesn't feel at all like a mother-hen to me. In fact, a great strength of this story is that the reader does feel there might be a real emergency that's prompted this schedule change - I guess because we're all still just a little jumpy after the pandemic, so much so that an unusually hushed hospital ward sets alarm-bels ringing! This reminded me of the moment in Virginia Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway, when everybody in the street jumps at the sound of a car backfiring. The reaction seems excessive today, but when the book was published, Londoners had recently lived through the zeppelin attacks of World War One. So in the midst of your readers' unease, over at the paediatric ward, we're as gladdened as you are to hear that comforting voice on the phone! Any reader too, I'm sure, would agree with your conclusion that there doesn't have to be anything suffocating about a mother who's on your side. Indeed, I'd say there are times we all need someone like your Mom!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.