Longevity logo

try fasting during lockdown to purge out the past junk

what f-a-s-t-i-n-g showed me about my emotions, vices and weaknesses

By 🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
fasting leaves you bare and naked but open and naive like a child #white

Opportunity to fast during #lockdown

I am reading back my reflections which took place one year ago (the wild 2020). These thoughts arose in the FULL MOON in July. Here I am 13 months later reviewing this #patternsofgrowth

I am writing this... where my monthly hormonal cycle looks like it will be in time for the full mooooon. I noted this because this affects how I think, feel and reflect.

Here I am in a space where I can share what the Universal Spirit is teaching me on ‘fasting.’

Being kept at home means that we are not as influenced by external affairs, pressures... where do we go? to run or hide? retreat to?

~to our breath

~to our mind, thoughts (yes, if you practice this, you can hear revelations)

~to our heart - this tugging, longing, yearning...

​​Why fast?

I have been feeling strange - yes it may be the moon, my hormones, the food/sugar I am eating...

I saw this video on my updates feed with the title ‘rapture dream’ and I clicked on it...

This young girl talked about fasting...

And it made me question whether God was telling me to fast. In the past week or so, I have not been eating consistently and regularly. My appetite was low... I would feel empty and low late at night and would eat snacks to replace the late afternoon meal instead of my dinner.

I felt different during the day when I did not eat in the morning or late in the morning. I felt less inclined to do the ‘adrenaline’ type activities - checking my email, checking my socials, ticking off my to-do list.

I felt my body being okay without physical sustenance... was this a mini test that I need to fast?

The Spirit calls...

. . .

discipline

re-focus

repent

listen

satisfied?

spirit move

revelation

^these were the words that hinted me to surrender, to a-l-l-o-w for the Spirit to kill all the weeds inside of me...

A raw poem that captured my experience:

f-ast to re-vive

come ⁠—

seasons come

you come and go

how many cycles? until we are frozen in time with you oh dear tree.

we remember the light ⁠—

and the dust

be gone but you have returned.

who are you?

i do not remember you - how art thou shine in such a purified state?

a gentle reminder perhaps?

Sneaky Spirit ⁠—

I hear you whisper in these long cold nights.

thought i had comfort

but you had something better for my soul.

~

Note to self:

backstory:

I wrote on my whiteboard a few days ago:

‘revival’

^ without any context of where I heard or retrieved this word from.

Two more days until my first stage of ‘fasting,’

I am preparing mentally - eating light, feeding less on radio/tv/sugar and feeding on spiritual soft sounding instrumental music, sermons and scriptures - the whole lot.

I have faith something will come out of this.

Not exactly sure.

~~

@jujunguyen - You will feel a bit muggy and uncertain like this photo when fasting but the benefits will come after the break of dawn.

1 year later review:

In the old days, monks and pilgrims did this naturally #asceticlifestyle

I know, in this modern world - it's challenging but do-able. Be flexible*

* Youtube videos shows many excessive fasts. It's important to chat with your GP, listen to your body and work around your schedule.

Start the pre-fast by cutting down bit by bit for your body to get the hint. Same goes for after the fast to start working back to your usual lifestyle. Your body needs time to adapt. Give time and don't overdo yourself.

Juju's trial:

I tried the 3 week partial fast of only eating grains (rice), veggies and fruit and cut out food packed in boxes i.e processed food.

Observations:

-felt weak

-felt light

-felt sensitive but humble and meek at the same time (less anger which is good for handling your everyday relationships).

Outcome:

I stopped at two weeks because I came in to get what I wanted was to experience the insights, a clean and a de-tox for my body.

It was intense and with the four walls around me during the time of news, lockdown etc, I know that this would be difficult to do this when out in society, working and playing. I acknowledge and respect my Muslim friends who practice Ramadan #beautifulhumans.

Spiritually, you can experience this for yourself and note down privately about your inner weaknesses and vices. For me it was a personal calling I had to do to get rid of my ego.

Be intentional and note down your WHY.

Why try and practice fasting?

  • Re-boot your original core drives, mission, values of life
  • Re-start your engine to get a new sense of awareness and clarity
  • Re-clean the blockages that have kept you stuck, stagnant and slow
  • ~

    #Questions to help you reflect when fasting:

    1. Who do you go to when you need someone to talk? (instead of checking your phone)
    2. Where do you go to when there is a moment of feeling the need to do something?
    3. Where does your mind wander in the morning, when your eating, walking and before you fall asleep?

    --

    After your fasting period (1 day, 3 days, a week #flexible!):

    🔔What did you learn about yourself from fasting?

    🔔How do you feel after a few days? A week after fasting?

    🔔What will you remind yourself to practice in your daily lives from gaining those revelations about yourself?

    diet
    Like

    About the Creator

    🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺

    I'm here for those who are looking for something more.

    #LESSjunkmoreJUJU

    ~Currently documenting my post-lockdown life:

    Part time Mental Health Worker / Part time Artist.

    Let's make meaning together Millennials ✌🏽

    [email protected]

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.