Longevity logo

Sunset Musings & Piano Adventures

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
3
Sunset Musings & Piano Adventures
Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

Sitting by the window, I watched the sun set. The beautiful transition is so mesmerizing that it leaves a lasting impression and it never gets old. As the sun starts to descend, the sky that was illuminated by the sunlight gets darker and darker, an array of colors appear widespread across the sky that slowly blend together, creating a beautiful shade. The air gets colder and colder as the sun descends. The cooling air gently caresses my face, reminding me of a mother's touch. The air picks up its pace, the wind blows through my hair, causing my scalp to cool down and my hair to blow and twist in a random way. The last light of the day sheds light on the birds returning to their homes.

The atmosphere now becomes chilly, the cold biting my shoulders. It's time to shut the window and close the curtains. The grandfather clock's loud 'dong' echoed in the room. It was 6:00 pm in the evening. Going around the house, I let down the curtains over the now closed windows. Done with that, I sat on the couch where my younger sister was watching a movie, or maybe it was a show. The closing credits were playing when I asked my sister what she was up to. Facing me, she asked to learn to play the piano and for me to accompany her on this learning journey. I guessed she was watching something related to the piano and got inspired by it. I also wanted to learn piano. It really seemed interesting, so I agreed. My younger sister hopped out of my sight, leaving her to her thoughts. I focused on the task at hand.

Taking out my phone, I searched for a beginner course. Surfing through, I found something that caught my attention and clicked on it. I decided to head to the storage room, where the piano was kept; it was my younger brother's birthday gift. It was nowhere near a professional piano, just a metallic silver electric piano. At this moment, I was really thankful for the regular cleaning in the house, or this piano would have been buried in layers of dust. Grabbing it, I brought it back in the living room. Getting comfortable, I began my learning journey.

Two hours had passed, and in these two hours, I had learned to read music scores and play any music by reading the score. Trying a few simple scores on the piano filled the room with beautiful tones. My grandma and mom joined me in the living room. I played Beethoven, and it took me three tries to get it right. I was happy with the result of my learning journey; it wasn't enough to become a professional, but I was happy with it. The silent support of my mom and grandma really made my day. Hugging both of them, I went to find my wayward sister after putting the piano back in the storage room.

Heading to her room, I knocked on the door before pushing it open. There she was, lying on the bed with a phone in one hand and a large bag of crisps in another. Jumbo headphones covered her little ears as she was lost in the screen. With a few long strides, I reached her, pulling the headphones off. I watched as her attention snapped to me, and seeing her face twist to shout but stopped after seeing it was me. Fixing her with a glare, I asked in a tone full of sarcasm what happened to her piano learning plan. Giving me a sheepish look, she replied that she will learn later. Huffing in annoyance, I left the room, knowing her "later" will never come. This kind of behavior frustrates me, and it's not because I don't know how to be laid back, but there is a time for everything, and with a lack of motivation, you're just wasting your life. Is it just my siblings, or are all the younger siblings like this?

advicelifestylehealthfitness
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood4 months ago

    Just for a minute there I had hopes for your sister! Learning the piano was the first I'd ever heard of her wanting to do something worthwhile with her time, so it's a great shame she'd fallen back on old ways by the end. I do worry about her, as I do my students who are always glued to their WeChat with their big dusky-pink metallic-effect headphones on. I like the way you remind us too that your brother's just the same, getting a piano for his birthday and then doing nothing with it, so that it'd be covered in dust by now if your mother wasn't tidy. The pity is how much these young people are missing, as your opening paragraph bears witness. The sunset is beautifully described, and the sensations it awakens in you are realized so vividly that the reader wishes your siblings could share in it too. Once you'd set the scene thus, I'd have hoped that on such an evening the subsequent piano lesson would have been a meaningful experience. Your anticlimactic ending therefore has its element of humour...but when I think of when I was young, and how much it meant to me to watch a sunset or learn something new, this actually becomes quite a sad story. In short, I still wish your siblings could be more like you, finding beauty and joy in the world around them. But maybe we just have to give them time! PS: "Crisps?" Not "potato chips?" Sounds like you really have been reading my British-English stories!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautiful thoughts! I loved it!🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.