Longevity logo

Nine Years

What I have learned while suffering from chronic back pain.

By J.C. MariePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I was around 12 years old, I began experiencing some back pain. Nothing serious, but deep aches and soreness that would hang around for a few hours before disappearing. Always in my lower back, but never on the same side. I told my mom about this, and she told me it was probably nothing and to just deal with it.

By the time I was 14 I was still dealing with these pains. Again, I told my mom. I reminded her that I had told her about these pains when I was 12, two years prior. She did not remember me saying this. However, she agreed to let me see a chiropractor; my sister was seeing one for her own back pains due to gymnastics, and it was only fair.

I saw the chiropractor for about six months, and it helped exponentially. We started off attending appointments twice a week, then once a week, than every other week. This enabled our chiropractor to get a better understanding of the bigger picture of our pain and give us practical tips on how to prevent these pains from returning.

Something I noticed when we attended the chiropractor was the weird looks we got. People seemed so confused that a couple of teenagers could need a chiropractor. Our chiropractor, while a great guy, made some comments on the first day I came in about how he didn't see why I needed to be there, but that he'd check me out anyhow. Surprise surprise, upon seeing my x-rays he saw why I needed to be there and took back his comments. However, these instances were the start of my beginning to see how people don't take the pain of young people seriously.

For a few months after the chiropractor visits, the majority of the pain had faded. I rarely ever dealt with it anymore. However, over time, it began to get worse and worse again. The chiropractor gave me stretches to keep up after I left, but I did not oblige. That was my bad, and I own that. I now see that was wrong and understand how badly it messed up my back. That is my own fault. However, that does not take away from the pain I continue to suffer from today.

Throughout high school and into college the pain got progressively worse, but I was able to manage it for the most part. There were days where I wanted to stay home rather than go to school because of how bad it was, but I was always told by people that I told about my back pain to "push through the pain" or "deal with it."

Looking back, I realize that these people did not take my pain seriously. They thought I was a teenager who was over-exaggerating the pain she was dealing with. They thought I just wanted a pass to get out of class or volleyball practice. That was not the case at all. I didn't want a free pass to get out of things; I wanted a free pass to be open about my pain without feeling as if I were faking it.

When I talk to people about my pain, they often roll their eyes. They look at me in disbelief, not thinking my pain could really be as great as it is. They tell me wait until I'm older and have real pains. I want to scream at them that I experience those now, but I don't know how to without my pain continually being diminished.

I wake up in extreme pain every day. I cannot walk properly until I do my stretches and work out the tenseness that causes some of this pain. However, that does not get rid of the pain, it simply alleviates it for a short period of time. Within a few hours I yet again have to do these stretches. I cannot lay in bed all day, but I must sit up in a chair or on the couch to ensure that my back has proper support.

I can't afford a chiropractor or a doctor currently because I am a college student and my family already has medical debt, so I deal with my pain by taking ibuprofen and doing regular stretches. Neither of these are actual cures; in fact, there is not a real cure for what I suffer from. It is chronic, and I will be dealing with it for the rest of my life, unless a miracle cure comes about.

I am 21 years old and I suffer from chronic back pain. I have suffered it for nine years. It is debilitating. My pain is not any less because of my age. My pain needs to be taken seriously. The pain of all young people needs to be taken seriously. Age should not determine the level at which people take someone's pain seriously. I only wish everyone else would realize this.

bodyfitnesshealthself carewellness
Like

About the Creator

J.C. Marie

J.C. is a graduate student who enjoys music, love, and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.