Longevity logo

My Journey with Seborrheic Dermatitis and How Red Light Therapy Saved My Hair

Jason Jones

By Wellness WonderPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have always had a love-hate relationship with my hair. On one hand, I loved how it was thick, curly, and shiny. On the other hand, I hated how it was frizzy, unruly, and prone to breakage. I spent a lot of time and money on products and treatments to make my hair look good, but nothing seemed to work for long.

Then, about a year ago, I noticed something that made me panic. My scalp started to itch like crazy, and I saw flakes of skin falling off my head. I thought it was just dandruff, so I bought some anti-dandruff shampoo and hoped for the best. But it didn’t help at all. In fact, it made things worse.

My scalp became red, inflamed, and sore. I felt like I had a constant fire on my head. And the worst part was, my hair started to fall out. Every time I brushed or washed my hair, I saw clumps of hair in the sink or on the floor. I was terrified that I would go bald.

I went to see a dermatologist, who diagnosed me with seborrheic dermatitis. He explained that it was a common skin condition that affected the scalp and other oily areas of the body. He said that it was caused by a combination of factors, such as genetics, hormones, stress, weather, and yeast. He prescribed me some topical cream and lotion that contained steroids and antifungals. He also advised me to avoid scratching or picking at my scalp, reduce stress and improve my diet.

I followed his instructions religiously, but I didn’t see much improvement. The cream and lotion helped with the itching and redness, but they also made my hair greasy and limp. They also had side effects such as skin thinning and fungal resistance. And they didn’t stop the hair loss. I was losing more and more hair every day, and I could see bald patches on my scalp.

I felt hopeless and depressed. I hated looking at myself in the mirror. I hated going out in public. I hated how people stared at me or asked me what was wrong with my hair. I hated how my boyfriend tried to comfort me but couldn’t hide his disappointment. I hated how my friends suggested wigs or hats or scarves. I hated how my life was falling apart because of my hair.

Then, one day, I stumbled upon something that changed everything. I was browsing online for some natural remedies for seborrheic dermatitis when I came across an article about red light therapy hair growth. It claimed that red light therapy was a treatment that used low-level laser therapy (LLLT) to stimulate hair growth by increasing blood flow, oxygen delivery, and nutrient supply to the hair follicles. It said that red light therapy was safe, painless, and non-invasive, and that it could be done at home with a device that emitted red light at a specific wavelength and intensity.

I was intrigued by this article, so I did some more research on red light therapy for hair growth. I found out that there were many studies that supported its effectiveness for various types of hair loss, including seborrheic dermatitis . I also found out that there were many devices available online that offered red light therapy for hair growth. They ranged from handheld combs to caps to helmets.

I decided to give red light therapy a try. I ordered a cap that had 80 LEDs that emitted red light at 650 nm and 5 mW per cm2. It looked like a regular baseball cap, but with wires and batteries attached to it. It came with instructions on how to use it: wear it for 15 minutes every other day for at least three months.

I was skeptical at first, but I had nothing to lose. So I started using the cap as directed. At first, I didn’t notice any difference in my scalp or hair condition. But after a few weeks, I started to see some changes. My scalp felt less inflamed and irritated. My flakes became less noticeable and frequent. My itching decreased significantly.

And then, after a couple of months, I noticed something amazing: new hair growth! I saw tiny hairs sprouting from my scalp where there used to be bald patches. They were thin and fine at first, but they gradually became thicker and stronger. My existing hair also became healthier and shinier.

I couldn’t believe it! LED lights hair growth was working for me! It was restoring my hair and my confidence!

I continued using the cap for another month until I reached the recommended six-month period. By then, my scalp was almost completely clear of seborrheic dermatitis symptoms. My hair was fuller and thicker than ever before. It looked like I had never had any hair loss problems.

I was overjoyed with the results. I felt like a new person. I loved looking at myself in the mirror. I loved going out in public. I loved how people complimented me on my hair. I loved how my boyfriend kissed me and told me how beautiful I was. I loved how my friends asked me what my secret was. I loved how my life was back on track because of my hair.

I still use the cap once a week as a maintenance treatment. I also use a mild shampoo and conditioner that are suitable for my scalp and hair type. I also try to reduce stress and improve my diet as much as possible. I don’t want to risk losing my hair again.

Red light therapy saved my hair and my life. It was the best decision I ever made. If you are suffering from seborrheic dermatitis and hair loss, I urge you to give red light therapy a try. It may work for you too. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Have you ever tried red light therapy for hair growth? What was your experience like? Did you notice any improvement in your hair or scalp condition? Share your story in the comments below. You may inspire someone else to try it too!

lifestylehealthaging
Like

About the Creator

Wellness Wonder

Be simple, and keep being curious about the real essence of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.