Longevity logo

My Hair Nightmare with Olaplex

By Holly Wanka

By CureZonePublished about a year ago 4 min read

I have always loved experimenting with my hair. I have dyed it different colors, cut it in various styles, and used all kinds of products to make it look shiny and healthy. I thought I was taking good care of my hair, until I tried Olaplex.

Olaplex is a luxury hair care brand that claims to repair broken bonds and rejuvenate damaged hair. It is especially popular among people who bleach their hair or use heat styling tools frequently. I heard so many rave reviews about Olaplex from celebrities, influencers, and friends that I decided to give it a try.

I bought the Olaplex No. 3 Hair Perfector, which is supposed to be a treatment that you use once a week to restore the health and integrity of your hair. I followed the instructions on the bottle and applied it to damp hair, left it on for 10 minutes, and then rinsed it out. I also used a moisturizing conditioner afterwards to balance out the protein in my hair.

At first, I didn’t notice any difference in my hair. It felt soft and smooth, but nothing extraordinary. I thought maybe I needed to use it more often to see the results. So I started using it twice a week, then three times a week, then every day.

That’s when the nightmare began.

I noticed that my hair started to fall out more than usual. Every time I brushed my hair, I saw clumps of hair on the brush. Every time I washed my hair, I saw strands of hair on the shower floor. Every time I touched my hair, I felt it breaking off in my hands.

I was horrified. What was happening to my hair? Was it because of Olaplex?

I did some research online and found out that I was not alone. There were many other people who reported experiencing hair loss, breakage, and scalp irritation after using Olaplex products. Some of them even filed a lawsuit against the company, claiming that its products contain allergens and irritants that cause severe hair damage.

I realized that I had made a huge mistake. I had been using Olaplex incorrectly and overloading my hair with protein. This had made my hair brittle and prone to breakage. I had also been having an allergic reaction to some of the ingredients in Olaplex products, such as lilial or panthenol. This had caused scalp inflammation, blisters, sores, rashes, or infections that had led to hair loss.

I immediately stopped using Olaplex products and threw them away. I also went to see a dermatologist who confirmed that I had suffered from contact dermatitis and telogen effluvium due to Olaplex. He prescribed me some topical steroids and anti-inflammatory medications to treat my scalp condition and advised me to avoid any harsh chemicals or heat styling tools for a while.

He also suggested that I try red light therapy for my hair loss. Red light therapy is a form of low-level laser therapy that uses red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and increase blood flow in the scalp. This can help improve the health and function of the hair follicles and promote hair growth.

He said that red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be safe and effective for treating various types of hair loss, such as androgenetic alopecia, alopecia areata, or telogen effluvium. He said that it can also help improve the quality and thickness of the hair and prevent further hair loss.

He recommended that I use a red light therapy cap at home for a few minutes a day and see results in a few weeks or months. He said that there are many factors that I need to consider when choosing the best red light therapy cap for my needs, such as the wavelength, power, coverage, safety, comfort, durability, warranty, and price.

He also told me about a post on vocal.media that explains how to choose the best red light therapy cap (without any links). He said that this post is very informative and helpful for anyone who wants to learn more about red light therapy caps.

I decided to give red light therapy a try. I bought a red light therapy cap online and started using it every day. To my surprise, I noticed that my hair started to grow back slowly but surely. My scalp also healed from the inflammation and infection and felt less itchy and sore.

It has been six months since I stopped using Olaplex products and started using red light therapy cap. My hair has grown back significantly and looks healthier and stronger than before. I am so happy and relieved that I was able to recover from my hair nightmare with Olaplex.

I learned a valuable lesson from this experience. I learned that I should always do a patch test before using any new product on my scalp. I learned that I should always follow the instructions on how to use any product correctly and sparingly. I learned that I should always do some research on the ingredients and potential risks of any product before buying it.

I also learned that red light therapy is a wonderful and natural way to treat hair loss and improve hair quality. I am so grateful that I discovered this amazing therapy and that it helped me restore my hair and confidence.

I hope that my story can help anyone who is going through a similar situation or who is interested in trying red light therapy. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you and support you in your hair care journey.

bodyhealthbeauty

About the Creator

CureZone

Adrenaline-fueled blog with weight loss secrets, mind-blowing hair growth remedies, energizing pain relief techniques, and elevated overall well-being. Thrilling transformation awaits!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CureZoneWritten by CureZone

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.