Longevity logo

My Favorite Workout Playlists

A Good music will accompany you and set the tone for your workout.

By Jalpa DavePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
My Favorite Workout Playlists
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I started working out recently at home for two reasons: 1) Pandemic, which made me gain unnecessary weight and 2) Going through a divorce. I know a lot of people started working out at home due to pandemic this year, but I just never caught up to that trend. It wasn't until my divorce recently that my friend suggested that I start working out to remove my frustration and to divert my attention on to better things. This was a good suggestion because I really did need to get in shape and also needed to get mental clarity from all the chaos that happened this year. Before the pandemic hit, I would always go to the local park with my best friend and we would walk and do a little bit of jogging for an hour. I remember once in a while we would listen to music while walking just for a change. It was also nice to be surrounded with the nature. I love the sound of birds, sights of butterflies, green trees and sunshine. This kind of setting in nature would always motivate me to go outdoors and exercise every day. I would also see a lot of people working out in the park like I did and that would give me more encouragement. Once the pandemic started, I knew working out from home was the safest option. I didn't have any gym equipment nor I was part of any virtual gym classes either. I just had a yoga mat and I started exercising from YouTube videos. I started with abs exercises, then added squats and lifting weights. I will eventually add cardio to the list as well. When I first started working out, I was only focused on learning new exercises and getting used to them. Then once I got hang of all my workouts, I knew I would need good music to help me out further. I knew having a good music in the background would help me stay focused and get me through my workout. Once again, I went to YouTube to find my favorite playlists. I am an Indian-American (South Asian) and I grew up listening to the Bollywood music my whole life. For those who may not know this, but Bollywood is the Indian version of Hollywood. Bollywood movies are mostly love stories and always musicals. It has a wide range of party and remix songs. I prefer this genre of music because it's positive, upbeat and entertaining. If it's good music and energetic, it will help me get through my workout. I like the kind of music that pushes you to work harder and not give up. I also like Pop, Hip Hop, R&B and recently started listening to K-pop music (BTS & Blackpink are my favorites). I am a music lover and I am picky about kind of music I would listen to in the morning because that’s when I work out. I am not afraid to try something new and different in music as long as it is positive and upbeat. My second playlist is based on American Pop music. This playlist is a remix of pop songs and it is very energetic. I like to alternate between the Indian and American music in my workouts just to mix things up a little bit. I have listed the links here for my favorite playlists below. Another important aspect in my work out is having music either on speakers or in headphones. I have AirPods, which are great because they are cordless and they block out any noise. All in all, your music should resonate with who you are and something that uplifts you. The right type of music will enhance your mood and uplift you. When you find your favorite playlist, it’s going to be like your own little private concert in your room or wherever you work out. Just like you can’t have dancing without the music, you can’t have working out without the music either.

Bollywood Workout: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1oaPb_UTxs

Pop Workout: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8OL6m0ZblA

fitness
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.