Longevity logo

Mother Nature Is One Hell of an Electrician

How do people do this?

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Do you have absolutely any questions for me, on any topic?

THURSDAY

• SELF: 10 minutes of tai chi before my shift. (2) Om Immunity Defense. 10 minutes of tai chi before shift.

• SPACE: Did dishes, twice.

• CREATIVITY: Audio project.

FRIDAY

Self

• (Day 1) Deepak Chopra's 21 Day Meditation Experience, Renew Yourself: Body, Mind & Spirit. Connected with my body, I feel joyful and energetic. Ram. I activate healing my body, mind and emotions.

• (2) Om Immunity Defense.

• 3.1 mile run 54 min, 42 sec. Taste the Jams--July on Spotify. Born to Run, by Christopher McDougall.

Self & Space

• Dropped off a bag of laundry.

• Washed a bag of my own. I wash my own work out clothes because I have to wash in cold and line dry.

• Garmin's 7 Minute Workout. Which actually took 8.5 minutes. Followed by 7 min, 40 sec of tai chi.

Create

• Spent the rest of the day either in creativity or napping.

HOW DO PEOPLE DO THIS

I spent 4 hours today at work, watching poorly made and truly awful PowerPoint videos. That's not what I do, at least, that's not what I do well. It was hard. I'm not sure how anyone does that type of thing for a full-time job. Perhaps if I knew, I would be earning a lot more money. Sitting still has never been my forte, unless I'm meditating. Go figure.

ONE WEEK OUT OF THE MONTH

I now have the data to back it up, thanks to Garmin Connect, and it damn near kills me. Once a month, for an unpredictable amount of time, I render myself useless. Running, creativity, getting up and staying out of bed becomes too emotionally draining. Coping with daily life becomes an impossibility.

A family member recently told me that by the time you are diagnosed with PMDD, you're already medicated for other things, so it's harder to pinpoint. So what am I supposed to do now? I am to just let exhaustion rule my life for an entire week out of the month? There are things I want, and wish to get done in my head. I don't want to behave like an asshole to people. But I can not deny that my inner circuitry moves towards disorder. Mother Nature is my electrician, and she has her own plan.

I called out from work a few days ago. When they asked for a reason, I simply said "exhaustion." For the moment, I would appreciate the ability to be able to remove my skin, and replace my brain with a newer tighter model, and breasts that don't hurt every time I move my pinky.

So while my daily plan of Self, Space, and Creativity is a great idea, I have to be kind to myself about letting any sort of structure go when PMDD takes over.

TODAY'S WEIRD BREAKFAST BOWL

• Nuun Sport +Caffeine, Cherry Limeade

• This morning's breakfast bowl contained: French fries, just egg, zucchini, mushrooms, black tahini.

• Huge pot of home brewed tea made. Should last me the next day or two. Got to learn to make even more.

• I made a huge pot of veggie rice, so I can easily create bowls later in the week.

• In another big veggie bowl for now are zucchini, olives, and left over corn chips.

• I am marinating portobello mushrooms, which I am hoping to cook like a guy I saw on You Tube, who made vegan shawarma.

• BEST THING I DID ALL WEEK. I made ice cubes out of a leftover smoothie. Those moments that I'm thirsty, or would love to chew on some Twizzlers. They're just straight up cool to snack on. I bought an egg holder in one of the schlocky stores in my neighborhood. That's what I used.

• By the way, have you ever tried "wrapped" cashews? You must. The ones I bought this week are dry roasted in their natural skin. You must find them!

> @garmin

> @nuunhydration

> Mushroom Shwarma (VEGAN!), The Wicked Kitchen. https://youtu.be/w1nvEd7SDqc

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.