Longevity logo

Meeting with my silk ribbon

Yoga with a view

By OrlaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Positioned upside down a few centimetres from the hard floor; I was casually stagnant in a Batman stretch I never thought I could master. Just hanging there wrapped in a dark red silk; I was trying to comprehend how I ended up dangling so freely, on a normal Saturday. I was stretching in ways I could never have imagined, while my body, spun and swung towards the window. I was glancing freely at the glistening blue Palm Jumeriah while pushing my body, while feeling like I belong in the next Olympics.

How did I end up here?

After training as a fitness instructor in Dubai, I realised that throughout my studies one component of being fit and healthy is having a range of flexibility. Flexibility was something I always despised and hated, any task that required flexibility had me running miles away from it. After being extremely passionate about yoga and wanting to improve my flexibility I attended so many classes. I tried a Vinaysa class, Yin yoga and Yin, Roll and Release- everything really, but with limited flexibility they were all above my level, so off I retreated back to beginners yoga. I figured being relatively fit and strong that this was something that did not make me feel alive; doing beginners Yoga or just about coping in any intermediate level classes had me feeling like progress was as far fetched as Jupiter.

What is Aerial yoga?

I researched some alternative methods and found Aerial Silk yoga at James and Alex studio in Dubai. I was anxious before attending the class, because, it all seemed a lot more technical than basic mat work. After warming up at my first session, I started to feel at ease, the bright and beautiful colours of the silks made me feel energised! We eased in with a few moves and stretches using the silk as support, at first it seems that it is really difficult but the silks are more like your own personal assistant. For once I didn’t feel like a beginner, for once I felt like I could access some moves with support. It made me love yoga just liked I had always desired and strived to.  The activity enhances joint mobility along with decompression of the vertebral discs which feels super along with general feel good vibes. The class is fast paced but towards the end some instructors offer an unstructured edition to their class where you can freely try the moves you desire; it gives time for personal practice and differentiation for everyone. Shifting from a floating Savasana, to a Star inversion one week to a plank with my feet in a hammock the next; is truly a little novelty that will not wear off any time soon. It is my favourite part of the class, especially since aerial silks are not something we can easily access at home. There are many studios popping up around Dubai though.

I found Aerial Yoga helps almost all the body parts to move and stretch and similar to running; aerial yoga relieves stress due to some stages of the class incorporating periods of meditative states.  Aerial yoga has helped with my overall flexibility because many of the moves involve stretches of the whole body but for individuals who are not that flexible support from the silk really assists with most stretches. Some of the core workout helps with strengthening the body and as a runner it helps increase my posture, endurance and speed. We live in a busy world inundated with technology that keeps developing and enhancing but also keeps many of us motionless. Even solutions to technological problems appear to be technology itself. A Fast pace of of life can have a dramatic effect on personal happiness and mental state. Mentally and emotionally yoga is distinct for teaching students how to relax, and manage stress. It promotes cooperation, instead of opposition which is a greatly beneficial. Physically, it improves their flexibility, coordination, and body awareness. In addition, their concentration and sense of calm A previous teacher said it can help the digestive system too.

I just left the class feeling like an energetic, child - like acrobat. I recommend that anyone who has a fear of Yoga should try this. I am still trying to touch my toes and I ended up upside down with a smile bigger than the Palm.

health
Like

About the Creator

Orla

An English teacher and writer currently traveling the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.