Psyche logo

The Gypsy King

I 'guzzle' his words with my Granola

By OrlaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Inspirational reads

I freely pour my Granola with my berries and cherries, as I flick through the first page of my weekly book. This week I have been fascinated by the life story of Tyson Fury also known as the Gypsy King. He is a world renowned star and world boxing champion but he has battled with mental health issues throughout his life, despite his success.

The first page reads, "Yet now as I drove along the motorway in this new dream car, I was caught in this nightmare of clinical depression. I had it all but I felt I had nothing to live for. There was no point in my existence." He became the heavy weight champion of the world in 2015 but was left feeling numb for a period of time after. I feel like it is insightful to read how our idols can at times feel hollow and how fulfilling life-long dreams does not always mean a lasting state of contentment or happiness.

This is so important for readers because it may help them feel like they are not alone in the world. This could be after a promotion, reaching retirement, a marriage, a birth, purchasing a new car or house, or attaining a black belt in Karate. Sometimes individuals expect to feel a certain something and then feel shocked when it does not necessarily happen. Not only this, hearing it from the mouth of someone we all know on the world stage can help others feel more confident about speaking out or asking for help.

Every week, whether the book has been a 6 out of 10 or a 10 out of 10, I like to jot down the three inspirational message I take from them that often change my life. After reading this autobiography 'Behind the mask' I have taken on board the following tips from the Gypsy King:

1) More should be done to combat mental health problems

I remembered when I trained hard to become the All Ireland Judo champion when I was 12 years old. I won the title and went home with my trophy, but I remember feeling a sense of numbness after. I just thought, what's the point of winning things. To this day, I often think of these feelings but could never really make sense of them. I know I am not a world champion but as I read back over my childhood personal statement my life goals said " I want to go to the Olympics." This never happened, maybe it was not the path I was supposed to take, but I can't help but think if young people have access to the right support for wellbeing, would their lives be different? In this book, Tyson articulates how he feels more should be done to combat mental health and I feel like he has every right to advocate for this. Overall, I learnt that my thoughts are not abnormal after achieving success and with the right support systems young people can reach their potential and stay motivated.

2) On the other side of darkness is the power to be released into the light.

Tyson states in the book how he is was once 'heart attack material' as he was 28 stone and drinking heavily. He expressed how he hit a point were he crumbled on his bedroom floor and cried to God. Tyson managed to return to boxing after this and win again. I like how he opens up about crying and how it made him feel better. This tells every woman and man that it is OK to cry! I know at times crying in many societies is seen as a weakness, and if we can see a heavy weight world champion cry then perhaps some will feel better about expressing their emotions too.

3) What works for some people won't work for everyone.

I am ecstatic that Tyson emphasised this in the book also. Everyone who suffers is in their own unique position but there is always genuine hope that it can change for the better. Tyson admits he is far from perfect and owns his mistakes, in fact is anyone really perfect in this world. In my own view striving for perfectionism or wearing a mask to make it appear to the outer world like we are perfect, will never bring us peace of mind. I have taken that message from this book, and added my own twist. This is why reading is awesome. It can help kick start a creative mind and new thought processes.

I promote books as the ultimate self-care resource.

In fact, I honestly like to side-step away from even calling it self-care. Spoiling ourselves with treats and indulgences can certainly help our moods and quality of life but is it always the answer? I like to think with a strong mind and focus on what’s best for me over what feels good, or what I want to do. I view self-care as self-parenting, because like a parent, you make decisions that improve your wellbeing.

Here is a link of TED speaker recommended reads which I will certainly be accessing next as part of my morning routine.

1-Clearer, Closer, Better: How Successful People See the World by Emily Balcetis (TED Talk: Why some people find exercise harder than others)

2-Creative Care: A Revolutionary Approach to Dementia and Elder Care by Anne Basting (TED Talk: How to meaningfully reconnect with those who have dementia)

3-How We Show Up: Reclaiming Family, Friendship, and Community by Mia Birdsong (TED Talk: The story we tell about poverty isn’t true)

4-Humankind: A Hopeful History by Rutger Bregman (TED Talk: Poverty isn’t a lack of character; it’s a lack of cash)

5-Friendship: The Evolution, Biology, and Extraordinary Power of Life’s Fundamental Bond by Lydia Denworth (TED Talk: The science of friendship)

6-The Future We Choose: Surviving the Climate Crisis by Christiana Figueres (TED Talk: The inside story of the Paris climate agreement) and Tom Rivett-Carnac (TED Talk: How to shift your mindset and choose your future)

7-Do Nothing: How to Break Away from Overworking, Overdoing, and Underliving by Celeste Headlee (TED Talk: 10 ways to have a better conversation)

Sources:

1- Behind the mask, Tyson Fury, My autobiography, Penguin (2019)

2- Ideas.ted.com

https://ideas.ted.com/change-your-life-and-those-around-you-with-these-23-inspiring-new-books-from-ted-speakers/?utm_campaign=social&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=2020-7-12&utm_source=facebook.com&fbclid=IwAR0xS6JoQgoLazQKS_tgyBoPj3vp0mdvGoFyp9zme5Q_B8bRO7sMioYnseI

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Orla

An English teacher and writer currently traveling the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.